Albondigas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This recipe is amazing! Makes for a very hearty meal. After reading some of the other posts I added some garlic powder, paprika and cayenne pepper and used beef cosomme intead of cubes. I also added a can of crushed tomatoes, celery, zucchini and a small handful of rice. Once everything was mixed together and boiling I trasferred it to the oven to stop the rice sticking to the bottom of the pot. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Use low sodium beef broth instead of the boullion cubes....Also, throw in any leftover vegies you might have too. Also, we use 1/2 Cup tomato juice (low sodium_and 1/2 Cup water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Add rice to meatballs instead of bread crumbs. Add minced onions and cilantro to meatballs . Add 1/2 beef broth and 1/2 water. No milk. No Salsa just lg can of diced tomatoes. Celery sliced very thinly can be added. And cilantro is NOT an option it is necessary in both the meatballs and broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Good, authentic-tasting recipe. Added some canned corn kernels I had on hand but otherwise followed the instructions to a t: very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
WOW! Not sure why everyone wants to make changes. The whole family really enjoyed this recipe. It sounds too 'unspiced' but for what ever reason it came out perfect! I used Hernadez Medium Salsa & Italian Bread Crumbs then salt & peppered each bowl to taste. This stays way up on the list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubbasracecar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Really enjoyed this recipe. I made a few changes: used leeks rather than onion, added cajun spice (paprika, cayenne, black pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, etc), salt and plenty of pepper. I also threw in some zucchini and lentils. Delicious! I made a large pot so my husband took some to work to share with co-workers as did I. I haven't heard what feedback he received yet, but everyone LOVED this soup. I would definitely recommend it. Lovely Mexican soup, though I know the spices I added weren't traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
For people on restricted salt diets, use low sodium beef broth instead. The flavor will be great. Use lean meat to reduce the fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
Like my Momma makes. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was reeeaaallly good. I followed the recipe but used low sodium beef broth instead of bouillon. I don't understand why so many reviewers want to tweak the meatballs. They are delicious as written. They read like they will be bland, but do not turn out that way at all. Cooking the meatballs in the broth adds so much to the flavor of this soup. Be sure to toss in mucho cilantro when you ladle this up. Wow. So simple and so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
very, very good & very, very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States