Albondigas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Very Good and very fast! As a mom to 3 little kids, this recipe was perfect. It was an easy recipe. The meatballs came out wonderful. I seasoned them a little with onion powder, adobo and garlic powder. Family enjoyed it. My kids loved the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
My nine year old son made this soup for dinner - with supervision of course! It was fantastic served with crusty bread. For those that have never had Albondigas before, I would describe it as a vegetable soup with meatballs and a little kick. A few minor changes were made just to accommodate what we had available. First, he used a quart of low sodium broth in lieu of the water and bouillon cubes called for. Second, I also had him use mild salsa so that it wasn't too spicy. I told him you can add spice but once it's in, you can't take it out. It turned out to be a good call. The heat level was perfect for my five year old and those that wanted more could just add extra salsa in their bowls. And finally, he only used 1 pound of ground beef (same amount of breadcrumbs and milk) because that is what was thawed and it still seemed plentiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
The following 'tweaks' were added by someone in '09, and ring true. With the tweaks, this is a 5 star recipe! Add rice to meatballs instead of bread crumbs. Lower fat ground beef is important because otherwise there is too much fat at the top of the soup. Add minced onions and cilantro to meatballs . Add 1/2 beef broth and 1/2 water. No milk. No Salsa necessarily, just lg can of diced tomatoes. Celery sliced very thinly can be added. And cilantro is NOT an option it is necessary in both the meatballs and broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This recipe was outstanding!!! Only thing I added was 1/4 tsp cumin, oregano, paprika and cayenne pepper because I love spice. Also, salt & pepper. Delicious-thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Very good, did have to add water at end , was a tad salty and wasnt as soupy as I thought it should be. Other than that followed recipe(no cilantro) and would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momtojandj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Wow, this is so delish. I accidently put way more breadcrumbs than I should but it made the meatballs so soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This recipe has lots of flavour. I didn't have cilantro and am usually not a fan. I didn't have quite enough salsa so I added a tomato. I also only had mild salsa so I added a few crushed peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Bueckert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by calangel58
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This was delicious! I modified it a little bit but only because I have finicky eaters in my family. Instead of boullion cubes, which I didn't have any, I used low sodium chicken broth. I also seasoned the soup with salt,pepper, garlic and onion powder. The meatballs I made exactly the same only I did season with onion powder and salt and pepper. I chopped up cilantro and let each person choose it they wanted it. Oh...and instead of Salsa, which I didn't have any, I used a can of tomatoe sauce. The great thing about this recipe is that you can make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calangel58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shafter, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Too bland for my tastes the way written. I added a small can of spicy v8 juice, hominy, and rice. Seasoned to taste with salt, pepper, and hot sauce. Next time I will add some more spices while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaneen Arias

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dayton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Easy, tasty, and fast to make. I made this in a rush before starting work and I'm so glad I did. I wonder if the meatballs could stand being cooked on low in a crockpot? I might have to try it out just to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 71-80 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States