Albondigas Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
It's a good base, but it lacks the Yerba Buena (mint), that's what makes it in my opinion, otherwise it tastes like caldo de res (ox stew)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I've made it a few times before rating because I live in Houston. This is the land of Tex-Mex which means we love our border food Very jalapeño spicy. I've modified it a few ways, chopping and adding parts of a whole chopped fresh jalapeño to each serving and adding a Mexican cheese shredded blend as a topping for each bowl. Also lose the fat and try ground Turkey. Any way It's super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gregfcarr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
If you tweak this recipe it is absolutely delicious!!! So easy and you can add other things more flavor. I added chopped "Italian Squash", and 2 tbsp of Beef Broth base. I used "Ground Turkey" for the meatballs, and it tasted it terrific!! I will have to add "chopped" onions next time to the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I will NEVER EVER make this recipe again. My family really disliked it. It had no flavor at all, there was too much flour used and I like how in your picture you can see the carrots in YOUR meal but its not in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is the one my mother in law made with these variations, she cooked the meatballs in tomatoes and then added greenbeans at the end. We enjoy them with warm tortillas and cheese spinkled on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Rice! You're recipe has rice & that's how I have always had homemade Albongias soup. Your recipe is the only one I found that had rice in the meatballs. I did make a few minor adjustments and added carrots, onions & chipotle peppers to the broth. Great recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvn8ive

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Simple and tasty. I had all of the ingredients here at home. Didn't have to shop for them :) that's always a plus for me. I followed the others' suggestions and added: carrots, squash, tomatoes and a bit of chicken consume to the broth. I didn't have onions or I would have added that too. So far, it is a wonderful comfort food to have this cool evening. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanna be cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I made this twice, almost exactly as written. The potatoes I used were "Red Gold" (supposed to be "excellent for boiling"), the rice was long-grain, and the flour was "unbleached flour" (it didn't say "all-purpose", but I guess that's implied). I found that the amount of flour was too much, even though I thought I coated the meatballs well with it; maybe 1/3 cup would have been enough. I made this once with 90% beef and once with 96%; I thought 90% would add a bit of fat to the soup, but it was too much; 96% worked great. I simmered the second stage for 1 hour, but the potatoes were still slightly underdone, and some of the meatballs still a little pink inside. The meatballs tasted great, but the broth was pretty bland; it was better the next day, though. I might make this again, but perhaps substituting broth for some of the water, and maybe adding another vegetable or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I was looking for an AUTHENTIC recipe for Albondigas, and that is what this is! I did make some minor adjustments to it like how my sister-in-law used to make it, with the exception of putting jalepenos inside the albondigas. The other recipes that do not have you put the rice in the albondigas are not even nearly authentic, real albondigas have rice inside! There are several ways to change this a little, like I said put jalepeno slice inside, add a can of chipotle peppers to the sauce, add what ever soup veggies you want. I like to serve mine with tortilla chips, like crackers and chicken noodle soup. Gracias por este receta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I really liked this soup. It was easy to make, especially since I don't really like to cook. I made a few changes: added more garlic, cumin, & oregano to the meatballs and broth. Also added a little more rice to the broth. The next time I make this, I will use fresh garlic and add onions in addition to the previous changes. A good & flavorful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States