Albondigas Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This is the first Albondigas Soup I've ever had, so I can't compare it to others but it is really good. I almost double the meat and definitely double the spices. I use Napa Cabbage instead of the awful green stuff. It's good for a light dinner which is how we always have it. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
We really enjoyed it. Followed recipe exactly with the exception of using ground buffalo instead of ground beef. Next time, will add a pinch of salt to the meatball mixture. Tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
LOVED THIS SOUP! While my husband was still eating this he was telling me to add this to our rotation of soups. I think he went back for three servings. I didn't have cumin seeds so I just didn't use them. I had already browned the ground beef when I found this recipe so I didn't bother making meatballs therefore I didn't have to use bread crumbs or egg; I just added the onion and garlic to the soup after saute them with the carrots and celery for a few minutes. I only had a 28oz can of tomatoes so I used it all instead of spliting the can. The rest of the recipe I followed. I had about a cup of cooked ground hot italian sausage in the fridge so I added it to the soup a few minutes before serving just to get rid of the left over kicking up the heat of the soup a little more. Will be making this soup plenty of times durning the cool winter months. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA MB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I made this soup tonight for dinner and it was yummy!! The only things I did different was substitute green beans and corn for the cabbage and peppers, because we didn't have any. And made the meatballs beforehand. I cooked them in the oven for 25 min at 350 degrees. I would make this again! Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Hatcher
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I absolutely loved this recipe!!! I just doubled the cumin also because I had no cumin seed. Will make this one often, and my entire family enjoyed it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheila T
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I made so many changes, I should probably be submitting what I made as a different recipe but, they never post my recipes so, here goes. I sort of combined this recipe with others I found on the internet. First of all, I found a recipe for Alton Brown's meatballs and they were so different from any meatball I've ever made but, the recipe had great reviews so I gave it a try, using ground turkley in place of the ground pork, lamb & beef Alton Brown uses. They were incredible! The recipe is easy to find if you google for it. Back to this recipe, I doubled the oregano and cumin and left out the green pepper & celery though I did add some celery salt to get the celery flavor. I also shredded the cabbage instead of adding in wedges and I squeezed a lime wedge over the bowl of spoup just before serving. This was so good, I ate the leftover soup for lunch every day until it was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Excellent! Definitely start with more water, I did 2 cups, but needs more spice with the add'l water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Excellent! I add 1 c. white uncooked rice+use 3/4 tsp chili powder instead of 1/2tsp as rice absorbs quite a bit. Then add 1/4c taco sauce. Serve w/warm tortillas & salsa. This makes it a one step meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This soup was good- all 3 of my boys loved it and asked me to make it again. It was a lot like a taco-flavored soup. I didn't have any cabbage to put in it, but I think that would have made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha Eibert

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
a great tasting soup. Will cook this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States