Albondigas Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I would give this 5 stars but I did veer from the recipe a bit by baking my meatballs first and adding in a bit more garlic. I loved the addition of the cabbage and finished it off with a bit of lemon...very good thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This recipe is really good. It didn't state it in the recipe, but I added about a teaspoon of salt to the meatball mixture because everyone knows you have to add salt to your protein or else it will be bland. I substituted dry bread crumbs and also doubled the amount because they felt too soggy and wouldn't hold their shape. To reduce some of the fat, I baked the meatballs on a cooling rack so the fat could drip onto a cookie sheet for about 20 minutes at 350 degrees F. I did everything else according to the recipe and I added 1 pound of dry red kidney beans as a bit of a filler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jefferson, Iowa, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I made a vegetarian version with no meatballs. I've had this in several restaurants. It never includes cabbage and always includes onion, so I omitted the cabbage and added 3/4 of a lg onion (chopped). Since I did not have fat from the meat, I also added 1-2 tbsp of oil. Came out just like the restaurant versions sans the meat. While I didn't try the meatballs, I notice that the meatball ingredients do not include rice. If you want an authentic version of this soup, substitute onion for the cabbage and find a meatball recipe with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KaponE
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Pretty darn good....I added a bit of masa harina to thicken it up, and a couple of jalepenos. Wonderful with corn tortillas roasted over the open flame of my gas range. 5 stars if hot peppers were in the ingredient list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaponE

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Mckinleyville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Terrific! I added uncooked rice (1/2 cut) to the meat. This holds the meat together well. Also use Tapatio hot sauce/lemon or lime juice, and corn tortilla's for dipping and you will love it!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEFITA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harker Heights, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
My family loved it, almost like grandma marquez's, she added potatoes to hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
GOOD RECIPE, I'VE BEEN LOOKING FOR A ALBONDIGA SOUP FOR A WHILE NOW. THIS IS THE ONE... IT'S SIMPLE AND EASY, THE TASTE IS GREAT. THE AROMA ENTICESES U TO WANNA TRY IT...ONLY THAT I DIDN'T HAVE CANNED TOMATOES INSTEAD I USED TOMATO SAUCE, IT STILL WORKED OUT GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NINA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
The soup was amazing! It was better than the Albondigas at my favorite authentic Mexican restaurant. Thanks for the great recipe, its perfect for cold winter nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This soup is awesome! I used soup base instead of the boullion for a richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States