Albondigas Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Sheila T
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I made so many changes, I should probably be submitting what I made as a different recipe but, they never post my recipes so, here goes. I sort of combined this recipe with others I found on the internet. First of all, I found a recipe for Alton Brown's meatballs and they were so different from any meatball I've ever made but, the recipe had great reviews so I gave it a try, using ground turkley in place of the ground pork, lamb & beef Alton Brown uses. They were incredible! The recipe is easy to find if you google for it. Back to this recipe, I doubled the oregano and cumin and left out the green pepper & celery though I did add some celery salt to get the celery flavor. I also shredded the cabbage instead of adding in wedges and I squeezed a lime wedge over the bowl of spoup just before serving. This was so good, I ate the leftover soup for lunch every day until it was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Excellent! Definitely start with more water, I did 2 cups, but needs more spice with the add'l water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Excellent! I add 1 c. white uncooked rice+use 3/4 tsp chili powder instead of 1/2tsp as rice absorbs quite a bit. Then add 1/4c taco sauce. Serve w/warm tortillas & salsa. This makes it a one step meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This soup was good- all 3 of my boys loved it and asked me to make it again. It was a lot like a taco-flavored soup. I didn't have any cabbage to put in it, but I think that would have made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
a great tasting soup. Will cook this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I would give this 5 stars but I did veer from the recipe a bit by baking my meatballs first and adding in a bit more garlic. I loved the addition of the cabbage and finished it off with a bit of lemon...very good thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This recipe is really good. It didn't state it in the recipe, but I added about a teaspoon of salt to the meatball mixture because everyone knows you have to add salt to your protein or else it will be bland. I substituted dry bread crumbs and also doubled the amount because they felt too soggy and wouldn't hold their shape. To reduce some of the fat, I baked the meatballs on a cooling rack so the fat could drip onto a cookie sheet for about 20 minutes at 350 degrees F. I did everything else according to the recipe and I added 1 pound of dry red kidney beans as a bit of a filler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jefferson, Iowa, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I made a vegetarian version with no meatballs. I've had this in several restaurants. It never includes cabbage and always includes onion, so I omitted the cabbage and added 3/4 of a lg onion (chopped). Since I did not have fat from the meat, I also added 1-2 tbsp of oil. Came out just like the restaurant versions sans the meat. While I didn't try the meatballs, I notice that the meatball ingredients do not include rice. If you want an authentic version of this soup, substitute onion for the cabbage and find a meatball recipe with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KaponE
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Pretty darn good....I added a bit of masa harina to thicken it up, and a couple of jalepenos. Wonderful with corn tortillas roasted over the open flame of my gas range. 5 stars if hot peppers were in the ingredient list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaponE

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Mckinleyville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States