Albondigas Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
One of my favorite soups when we go out to eat mexican food, now I can make it at home and it's even better! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Very good. I did divide the sausage and hamburger into equal portions. I also sprinkled a shredded Mexican cheese mix on top of each serving. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as it is written. Very tasty! Lots of flavor! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAMARRIE14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hull, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Very good, although I did all beef since I don't eat pork. On the reccomendation of other reviewers, I did a full cup of rice. I didn't make my meatballs too terribly small, so we ended up eating all of them and still had broth/rice left, so I added corn to the mix and that helped. I think the broth could have used more oregano and black pepper, but otherwise, this was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
This was very good, as some others did I also changed it a little. I didn't use any basil and I used ground pork. I added one whole serrano chile to the stock and let it simmer for about an hour then removed the chile. This really gave it a nice chile flavor without making it too spicy. I also added one chopped carrot, zucchini and celery stock. Perfect for those cold evenings by the fire, my family loved it. Thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob & Kara's Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This was the first time I made this soup and it was WODERFUL! I also used half the amount of tomatoes called for and added a little cooked rice to the meatballs. I also added 1 tsp. each of cumin to the meatball mixture and soup. It really was as good as an authentic restaraunt or better! Not too greasy or bland as some other reviews stated. Thank you Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
Delicious! Following another reviewer's suggestion, I added cooked rice to the meatballs. I doubled the salsa and topped it with cilantro and avocados. This recipe is not as good the second day as the rice seemed to mushy by the reheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I substituted the basil and oregano in this recipe with cumin, which makes more sense to me. It turned out AWESOME!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoDoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I fiddled with the recipe a bit but it was still wonderful. I cooked it in my slow cooker. Put everything but the meat and rice in the pot and turned it to high while I was making the meatballs. Didn't have two onions so I used onion soup mix in the meatballs. Took forever to make the meatballs but well worth the time. Cooked on high in the slow cooker for 4 more hours. Turned out great and the leftovers are even better than the first taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Afton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
Excellent! We love this spicy soup. Great as leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
it was just ok. definately not the best albondegus recipe I've made. my family and i love heat in a mexican dish, but this was so hot you could not really taste the flavors. also too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States