Albondigas Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
We thought this soup was pretty good! Hubby is looking forward to it again tonight. I don't like onions in my meatballs, so I threw those in the pot. I also added 1 small sliced carrot and about 1/2 stalk of diced celery. I would suggest using a little more seasoning in this... cumin and oregano, maybe even some chili flakes. I made the meatballs using a 1/2 " tsp. and although it took FOREVER, that's how the soup is done. And you'll be sorry if you run out of the the little suckers~ I didn't use the ground pork... none at the market. Cooked the rice on the side, so we could add it in the amount we wanted. Besides, I couldn't stand the thought of starch in my soup. And it definitely needs double the amount of rice. Thanks for the recipe... I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Delicious!! I wondered if it would be hearty enough to serve as a meal and it absolutely was - we were stuffed!! I made it just as the recipe calls and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Excellent!!! Easy, flavorfull and satisfying. Searching for salsa verde is worth the trouble, my store carried only 1 brand. i took the advice of other reviewers and used 1 full cup of rice, but next time i'll cut the salsa down because my husband is not a big fan of spicy foods. my picky 15 year old stepson and i each had 2 large bowls, it was absolutely delicious. a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emiko Marcy Covert

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Tip for making meatballs: roll meat mixture out like a snake, and cut off same sized pieces. Use a colander to roll meat pieces around, this will make them round. Perfect, same-sized meatballs everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This is my new favorite soup to make! I used salsa verde and chicken broth. I also used a cup of rice. Don't be fooled by the thin consistency when you first start the soup. It ends up thick and hearty! The only problem is that I can never remember the name....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
My husband has been requesting this soup for a while, so I made it for Christmas Eve. It makes quite a lot! I added a bit more salsa, and added some shredded cheese on top. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjscott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Awsome, this has been a huge hit with my family and friends. I add extra rice as well as chunks of carrots, celery, onion and more tomatos just because we like it like that. And I was just told my version is better than the best Mexican restraunt here where we live! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Fritzie
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
My husband and I both are nuts about this soup. I mix rice in with the meatballs, but he likes it in with the soup too. Also I sub in cilantro for basil. At least in the winter. :) Labor intensive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Fritzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Wow! This recipe has become one of my favorite soups/stews to prepare and serve to my family and friends! YUM YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I had most of the ingredients on hand so I decided to make this soup. I was amazed how good this was. Even my husband, who doesn’t think soup is a meal, loved it. For the meatballs I used only beef. I used chopped fresh cilantro, not basil. Instead of the garlic and salt I used Adobo. I don’t keep cornmeal on hand so I used seasoned bread crumbs. I lightly browned the meatballs, and then added the liquids. I don’t like the taste of canned beef broth so I used chicken. The quality of the salsa is key. I used Goya Salsa Verde. I would not try to use a red salsa in this dish, as the person below stated. Toward the end I added a couple of handfuls of medium egg noodles (Kids prefer noodles over rice). Also I snuck in package of thawed chopped spinach. The soup is so full of flavor the kids didn’t even know. Rich flavorful broth, with tender meatballs this meal is a real winner. A definite must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States