Albondigas Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This is one of my best recipes yet. A few modifications to this recipes are: replacing the cornmeal w/SEMOLINA FLOUR, this make your meatballs tender. pork sausage w/Jimmy dean pork sausage w/sage and green chile salsa w/green chile enchilada sauce. Thank you Kathy Nelson for such a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MillieP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I made just a couple of changes to this soup, I used cilantro in the meatballs instead of basil and I used some ground turkey (a minor effort to make it healthier) in place of the pork sausage. My husband hails from Mexico and he kinda wrinkled his nose at the idea of the sausage. Otherwise I did everything else the same and it was quite yummy. The only thing I would do differently next time is precook some rice, maybe 1/4 c, and combine it in with the meatballs. I know another reviewer suggested this and my hubby backed it up saying that was the way his mother made it. Two thumbs up from the both of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Fantastic recipe! I made a handful of changes to make it more authentic for the mexican side of the family. I added cilantro at the beginning, and didn't put as much fresh basil or onions as called for in the meatballs. I also added 3/4 cp. of rice 30 minutes prior to the soup being done instead of 1/2 cp. at the beginning. The biggest changes I made were to use chicken broth instead of beef and adding rice to the meatballs. This is how my boyfriend was used to it, so I thought I'd try it. I put 3/4 cp. rice in the meatballs, which is a lot, but that's how it was preferred in my house. Overall it was great! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Everyone loved this soup. I made a few changes that have been suggested and some of my own. I used only beef no pork..as many family members donot eat pork. Cilantro instead of basil, red onion in the meatballs...gives a hint sweeter taste to compliment any saltyness of the beef broth. I do think there was to much onion in this recipe for the meatballs so added about half of what was suggested. Did not add any salt you can always add that later. I browned half my meatballs and did half regular to see which I liked best...both were very good...the browned ones had a more robust meaty flavor that was very nice. I also added cumin in the meatballs about 3/4 tsp. I cooked my rice added some to the meatballs...and when ready to serve added some in the bottom of the soup bowls topped with a slice of avacado, wedge of lime, twig of cilantro. I used Chicken broth and 2 beef boullion cubes with water...this adds a saltly taste..next time I will only use one beef boullion or one can beef broth...I also added chopped carrots and celery with a few celery leafs to the soup for a more heartier winter soup. A lot of changes here to the original recipe...but I think just as tasty and authentic as I've seen here in San Diego.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
It was pretty good for me making it...but something was missing. I did listen to the other users who said to use cilantro, and added more rice than what it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I thought this was very greasy and bland, but my hubbie liked it so I'll make it again. I plan to bake the meatballs on a rack in the oven next time though to drain all the grease off before I add them to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I don't usually like albondigas because of how much basil is in it, but this one was really good with some changes. I used 1 pound of ground turkey instead of the beef and pork mixture. I also cut down my basil to 1/4 teaspoon of dried basil in my meatballs. My husband really like this as well and that's something since he grew up eating his mom's albondigas and this was way different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raisin City, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
This was a fab. soup. I did sub. green chillies for the salsa since I was out and Cilantro for the basil, I also added more rice. Yummy my family loved it. Thank you for submitting this:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
My family loves this soup!! Very easy and filling dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
The soup is great..however, cooking the rice for an 1.5hrs is waaaaay to long. I was so excited about the soup when i first did a taste test. But when i came back to the pot 1.5hrs later.. i had a pot of mushy rice. I little more than doubled the rice which was a lil too much. I do think it needs more than 1/2c. but just not as much as i put in there. I suggest pouring your rice in , the last 20 mins or so. Or even adding cooked rice towards the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States