Albondigas Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Make the changes as suggested by others. :) Great dish. I added corn and zuchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This soup was wonderful! Only made a few minor changes. We put some fresh chopped basil and spinach into the meatball mixture (will probably add in some Tony Chachere's seasoning next time for a bit more flavor). We also browned the meatballs a bit. In the soup we put in more fresh basil and cilantro. As suggested by others we did add in some cumin; wanted to add in some chipotle chili powder but the green salsa we used gave the soup plenty of heat (couldn't make it too hot or kids couldn't eat it). We also just cooked some rice on the side and then everyone placed as much rice as they wanted and then poured the soup on top. Flavorful and delicious. Can't wait to eat the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I made this soup the other day,and really enjoyed it, taking bits from other reviews and adding a few of my own. I made my own beef stock with beef shanks,instead of using the 6 cans of stock. I Removed the shanks before adding meatballs. Because I hate touching raw dround meat ,and don't like rolling meatballs the tip from viewer to make a snake shape roll snip and roll in bowl,worked great making uniform sized meatballs without ever touching my hands!, I also added lots of cilantro, especially fresh cilantro with every serving it really grabs the flavors and brings them out. I only used half a can of the green chile and it was spicy but not overwhelmingly. This recipe makes a big pot, therefore I did not add rice to pot as I knew it would take a few days to eat, we are a family of four and we are still enjoying this soup three days in,we just put it over a fresh bowl of rice everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Excellant. My boys loved this Albondigas. Will absolutely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Just okay, something was missing? Maybe coriander? Tasted really acidic to me, followed directions only thing I added was some addional salt and some carrots for some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Absolutely delicious! My boys all loved this soup; it's a delightful change from stews and such. Only change I made was to use cilantro in place of basil; the rice does tend to sink, so next time I may make rice, put it in the bowls first, then ladle the soup over it. Overall, though, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
my boyfriend is mexican and had been begging me to make this soup. He loved it but I thought it was just ok...it needed more spice. I added carrots and celery,but I think I will do an Italian Wedding meatball next time, with spinach and the small pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I really liked this recipe. I added carrots and cilantro at the end. The meat balls were really good. I used SPG to season them. Equal parts salt, pepper, granulated garlic. My kids even ate all this. BIG DEAL around here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
My family has made this soup for years but the is by far the best recipe!!!! I think it has alot to do with the green salsa and also the use of cornmeal mixed in with the meatballs. It is so yummy and it gets even better the next day. I made this step by step as suggested and I do not think it needs any addtions. My family was very happy. Thank you for the recipe...it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This was pretty good. I followed the recipe except used leftover rice. My husband and I both like it, and it will be a good starting off point for other soups. Next time we'll add some veggies like corn or who knows what. This makes a LOT of soup, but it's good stuff, even leftover the next day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Genoa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States