Albondigas Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Tip for making meatballs: roll meat mixture out like a snake, and cut off same sized pieces. Use a colander to roll meat pieces around, this will make them round. Perfect, same-sized meatballs everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2000
The secret of this soup is GREEN CHILE SALSA which was in the original recipe I used in 2002 from this site. This has been rewriten and changed to just salsa. Be sure to use the green salsa. It makes this soup. (My original review follows) --- This wonderful soup was good to the last drop. I served it to 9 people the first time I made it and everyone asked for the recipe. Will make this again real soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
There seems to be a little confusion over the term "green chili salsa." When I submiatted the recipe, I used the term to mean salsa made with green chilis like Anaheims or jalapenos, not red chilis. I use Pace salsa, mild or medium, or a similar brand. Hope this helps, Kathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DesertBorn54

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
Wow! This soup is fantastic! My husband's family is from Mexico and I didn't think I'd ever find a recipe that was as good as his mom's. But this is it! He was skeptical when he saw me tossing in bottled green salsa and cornmeal, but when he tasted it, he couldn't believe it! I used low-sodium beef broth. For veggies, I added in 1 cup each of diced celery and carrots. I also added some cilantro and made it slightly spicy with a medium-hot green salsa. I cooked it for only 40 minutes after adding in the meatballs. Any longer would have made the vegetables and rice too mushy. It heats up well the next day, too. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This is a great and simple soup to make. The only place I would really stray would be the rice. The original recipe calls for uncooked rice to be added to the soup. If you do this, the starches in the rice will thicken the soup base. Instead, take a 1/2 - full cup of cooked rice and add that to your meatball mixture. This adds a nice texture to your meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
This is the BEST recipe for albondigas that I have found. Using medium salsa, I think, gives it just the right kick. It makes a huge pot though, so be ready for leftovers! I also used half chicken broth, and half beef broth with excellent results, as well as adding fresh chopped cilantro, and a little extra (cooked) rice. FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Threw in cilantro where ever it called for basil & brown rice instead of white. It came out to be the best tasting soup! The flavor is outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
We love this soup! I've probably made it 10 times. I add a whole pound of 96% lean pork sausage in addition to a pound of ground beef, carrots, celery and rotel tomatoes. We love cilantro so I use that instead of basil and mix a few tablespoons into the meat mixture. It's a little salty but oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I Love this soup so much, and its so easy to change it how you like it. As is, its wonderful, but I do like to add other things to it to make it more like my grandmothers. I always use a can of chile verde salsa, and using Cumin is a Must. I like mine with chopped up stalk of celery, squash, cabbage, and a bundle of cilantro. (Cabbage and cilantro should be added in last, after the meatballs). I'm diabetic so I usually omit breadcrumbs, rice, and milk with no problems too. **By the way... If you take out the Rice it reduces the cooking time by at least an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Kitahara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I have been making albondigas for years, but my recipe never approached the albondigas I'd have when eating out, so I questioned its authenticity and turned to Allrecipes for a different, more traditional take. This one definitely comes close, and couldn't be more opposite from what I was used to making - beef broth instead of chicken broth, no lime juice or jalapenos but the addition of salsa, etc. In short, this version is very good, and a much closer representation of what true albondigas tastes like. I did add carrots (great touch) but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. This was even better reheated the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States