Albondigas Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
The soup is great..however, cooking the rice for an 1.5hrs is waaaaay to long. I was so excited about the soup when i first did a taste test. But when i came back to the pot 1.5hrs later.. i had a pot of mushy rice. I little more than doubled the rice which was a lil too much. I do think it needs more than 1/2c. but just not as much as i put in there. I suggest pouring your rice in , the last 20 mins or so. Or even adding cooked rice towards the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
My husband loved this soup but I did tweak it. I looked at Albondigas Soup II on this sight, and added spices called for in that recipe: tsp each of cumin and chili powder and garlic powder in the broth. I also added chopped 5 carrots, 2 large zucchini, 5 celerystalks and some chopped onion(I made some extra brotht o accomodate the vegies). I think the addition of the vegetables made it a much better soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This was an easy and wonderfully delicious recipe! I added a pinch of red chile powder to the meatballs- we love the added "punch" it gave! Thanks for sharing the recipe, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VFRAZIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacna, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Although we really enjoyed this recipe as is, it definately needs more rice! I used regular mild salsa, and like TNT also left the onions out of the meatballs and used sweet Italian sausage in place of the ground pork. The meatballs and broth was fantastic, but I think next time I would also add some carrots & celery as cookinme did. (great pic, cookinme!) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
My family really loved this comforting soup Kathy. My QualityCook friends and I made this together and we all enjoyed it. I used low sodium chicken broth and brown rice. Delicious and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
We loved this! I added the uncooked rice to the meatball mixture instead of the soup! I also added slices of corn on the cob, potatos, celery, and carrots to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I just made the soup today! I absolutely loved it, I followed the instructions to a t, except I did add some cumin to the meatballs. I also added cilantro at the end to garnish... I will definitely be making this again! However, next time I may consider low sodium beef broth... =o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
We all really liked this soup. I love the soft texture of the tiny meatballs which I assume is from the cornmeal in the mix. I used regular mild salsa (don't like things really hot). I used half beef and half chicken broth. I added some chopped carrot and celery to the soup as well as cilantro instead of basil (because I had it) and some cumin. I did use more rice (half a cup of white and brown). I like how it got a little thick from cooking the rice in the soup. I will definately be making this again! Thanks to my Quality Cook friends, I don't think I would have even thought to make this witoout your recommendations. And thanks Kathy for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
We thought this soup was pretty good! Hubby is looking forward to it again tonight. I don't like onions in my meatballs, so I threw those in the pot. I also added 1 small sliced carrot and about 1/2 stalk of diced celery. I would suggest using a little more seasoning in this... cumin and oregano, maybe even some chili flakes. I made the meatballs using a 1/2 " tsp. and although it took FOREVER, that's how the soup is done. And you'll be sorry if you run out of the the little suckers~ I didn't use the ground pork... none at the market. Cooked the rice on the side, so we could add it in the amount we wanted. Besides, I couldn't stand the thought of starch in my soup. And it definitely needs double the amount of rice. Thanks for the recipe... I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Delicious!! I wondered if it would be hearty enough to serve as a meal and it absolutely was - we were stuffed!! I made it just as the recipe calls and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States