Albondigas Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I made this tonight and the whole family loved it! I made a few changes, as usual. I used brown rice, and threw it in from the beginning so it'd have plenty of time to cook. I also added carrots and celery, per others' recommendations. I added swiss chard at the very end, too. I used cilantro where it called for basil, and I omitted the ground pork. And I just used one large can of tomatoes. It was wonderful! Thanks for a great base for lots of creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Not very good, and a little disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Was very good, just missing that "something".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
My family, who I can never please everyone at one time with dinner, loved this soup. I sped it along by using store bought turkey meatballs, cutting the calories. I added two tablespoons of olive oil to add a healthy fat instead of boiling the hamburger and pork meatballs. Totally ready in 45 minutes. I drained the tomatoes so it was still brothy and not tomatoe based. Still could have used less tomatoes. Next time I will use just one can. Great receipe. I can't wait to have it again tomorrow for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Schuman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
We loved this. I added chopped fresh mint leaves and 1/4 cup uncooked rice to the balls (no cornmeal and no salsa). I also used fresh cilantro and mint leaves in the soup instead of basil. I did not add any uncooked rice to the broth, some of the rice in the balls came out and cooked in the soup. I added extra veges to the soup: celery, carrots, corn and fresh cut green beans. So Healthy! I also used canned diced roasted tomatoes with green chilis. Wow, that added quite a kick! It was a little too spicey for me so I added parmesan cheese and a dallop sour cream (as I served it) to cool it off. Everyone loved this soup. Most everyone did not need the sourcream or cheese. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Go GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I used ground turkey instead of the ground beef. Really made a nice textured meatball. Also used a medium heat green (tomatillo) salsa and added a couple of carrots sliced in rounds which I love in Albondigas. I made a double batch, froze half. I just ate the last bowl full and am glad I also doubled up on making the meatballs and froze enough for an additional single batch. The meatballs are the most tedious part of the recipe but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maine Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I have made this soup several times now and love it. I now make a triple batch of meatballs and keep extras in the freezer for when the craving strikes. (1 lb ground beef, 1 lb chorizo sausage, 1 lb ground turkey) I also add cilantro to the meat mixture and the broth instead of basil. I have made it with the rice added and without-I now prefer it without. This a delicious soup with great flavour. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I guess being Mexican, I'm more used to a more authentic Albondigas Soup. This was good, but I doubt I'd make it again. I prefer my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennymama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I am so glad that I found this recipe! I made the soup last night for dinner and am counting down until it is lunch time so I can devour the leftovers. For the meatballs, I couldn't find 1/4 pound of sausage and didn't want leftovers so I used a meatloaf mix of meat that was 1 1/4 pounds. I replaced the basil with cilantro. For the broth, I saw the author's comment about using GREEN salsa and it was a key ingredient....excellent addition to it. For the veggies, I sauteed onion, celery, and carrot before adding the broth. I cooked the rice separately and I am glad I read the other reviews that suggested I do so. I added fresh spinach and chopped cilantro to the soup about ten minutes before serving. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I loved this soup and not many restaurants offer it so it was great to find a good recipe. I made my meatballs bite size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States