Alaskan Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Really delicious! I omitted the zucchini and used fresh milk, put in a dash of tabasco. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
VERY GOOD! I had left over salmon that was flovored with butter, lemon, and dill. This was a great way to use up my leftover salmon. My husband loved it and he is from alaska and has just about anything salmon. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wholewheatbaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I prefer to use fresh not canned milk or 1/2 and 1/2 otherwise good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Boy, this is delicious chowder. I did make a few changes based on what was in the house and other reviewers comments. Frozen corn, no zucchini, thyme instead of dill (I am not fond of dill), whole milk, a dash of hot pepper, and a half teaspoon of old bay seasoning along with the seasoned salt. This is one of the easiest soups I have ever made and my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was a delicious chowder. I used reduced-sodium chicken broth, reduced the amount of seasoned salt & dill (not a big fan of dill, but the whole amount probably would have been fine; couldn't taste it). Steamed some sockeye salmon I had thawed, and also used one can of deboned, skinless salmon; tossed in about 1/2c corn leftover from a cornbread recipe. Like reviewer, What a Dish!, I made a roux of butter & flour and added it to the broth to thicken and flavor it a bit. Also added a splash of sherry which was a really nice touch and I'd do again. Served with cornbread and broccoli rabe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Excellent. It's not difficult to make and it tastes great. We usually double the recipe and freeze a large portion for later on. We've sent this recipe to friends and family and everyone who has made it also enjoys it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Was alright, just a little rich for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lebanon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This was quick, easy, and tasty. I used skim evaporated milk, and it was still creamy and delicious -- you would never believe it was so healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
used regular milk and worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I've made this a lot over the past few years. It's great! A few times, when I wanted a little bit more thickness, I made a roux with butter and flour, then added milk and cooked until thick and added it to the chikcken broth/veggie mixture. It was a lot more thick and hearty this way and more delicious! I've even used skim milk. I've made it with fresh and canned salmon, both ways are good. I buy the cans of boneless salmon, that way I don't have to deal with the bones. I usually leave out the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States