Alaskan Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Really delicious! I omitted the zucchini and used fresh milk, put in a dash of tabasco. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
VERY GOOD! I had left over salmon that was flovored with butter, lemon, and dill. This was a great way to use up my leftover salmon. My husband loved it and he is from alaska and has just about anything salmon. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wholewheatbaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I prefer to use fresh not canned milk or 1/2 and 1/2 otherwise good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Boy, this is delicious chowder. I did make a few changes based on what was in the house and other reviewers comments. Frozen corn, no zucchini, thyme instead of dill (I am not fond of dill), whole milk, a dash of hot pepper, and a half teaspoon of old bay seasoning along with the seasoned salt. This is one of the easiest soups I have ever made and my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was a delicious chowder. I used reduced-sodium chicken broth, reduced the amount of seasoned salt & dill (not a big fan of dill, but the whole amount probably would have been fine; couldn't taste it). Steamed some sockeye salmon I had thawed, and also used one can of deboned, skinless salmon; tossed in about 1/2c corn leftover from a cornbread recipe. Like reviewer, What a Dish!, I made a roux of butter & flour and added it to the broth to thicken and flavor it a bit. Also added a splash of sherry which was a really nice touch and I'd do again. Served with cornbread and broccoli rabe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Excellent. It's not difficult to make and it tastes great. We usually double the recipe and freeze a large portion for later on. We've sent this recipe to friends and family and everyone who has made it also enjoys it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Was alright, just a little rich for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lebanon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This was quick, easy, and tasty. I used skim evaporated milk, and it was still creamy and delicious -- you would never believe it was so healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
used regular milk and worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I've made this a lot over the past few years. It's great! A few times, when I wanted a little bit more thickness, I made a roux with butter and flour, then added milk and cooked until thick and added it to the chikcken broth/veggie mixture. It was a lot more thick and hearty this way and more delicious! I've even used skim milk. I've made it with fresh and canned salmon, both ways are good. I buy the cans of boneless salmon, that way I don't have to deal with the bones. I usually leave out the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States