Alaska Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Fairly good, but a wee bit rich...this recipe uses almost a pound of butter! (3 quarters). There are simpler and more tasty versions of white Texas Sheet Cake on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Although I use this site often, this is my first rating but there is such a disparity or ratings, I am prompted to add mine. I am a very experienced cook and often read the ratings realizing much depends on the skill and expectation of the person making the recipe. I saved this recipe quite some time ago and today needed a quick dessert I could serve in a hurry. I have to say, for what I expected, a very good moist cake with excellent flavor, I am not disappointed. I made it exactly as written, which I always do the first time I make something, exept left out the nuts as I am serving it with rasperries and ice cream or lemon curd and whipped cream, whichever people want. I added the almond to the icing as well as the cake, as the original submitter indicated. I admit to being a white cake fan, so I love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
So glad I did a sample of this before using for a big BBQ party. I wanted to use this recipe because it served a lot but it makes such a flat cake that the presentation is seriously lacking. I omitted the almond because I don't like almond extract. I tried to use buttermilk in the frosting/icing and it got all lumpy on me. Really easy to do with good flavor. Would work for a little snack cake but not a party cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This cake did not turn out as I hoped. My friends and I all thought it tasted off, but when we gave it to some other people we knew, they thought it tasted very moist. Nonetheless, I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Excellent cake. I skipped the nuts, and used vanilla instead of almond. The cake is very sweet and moist. It could stand on it's own without the frosting as well. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roz147

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Benz Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I made this for a friend who requested it for his birthday cake. I have never heard of it before. It was a huge hit. I had to make a 2nd one for my husband who LOVED it. I left out the pecans because he doesn't care for them. I also baked it for 22 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Lawrence, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
very good cake! I will make again! Like the others, I did need to cook it about 10 minutes longer but it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Starke, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was amazing. I'm usually a chocolate girl but this cake may have converted me. Just a few notes: Don't forget to add the baking powder and baking soda - I added it with the flour/salt. The batter is quite liquid-y. I had to bake more than the stated time (about 30 minutes). All in all, a tasty dessert that will certainly grace my table again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
The weirdest cake I've ever had, not really cake like at all. Kind of dense and really thin. Maybe that's how this cake is supposed to be, but none the less, I didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniviva1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
The original recipe that I submitted actually called for almond extract in both the cake and icing. It also has toasted almonds, not pecans, in the icing. Not sure why they changed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States