Alan's Ultimate Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I love these muffins, but they're even better with nuts. The only problems I encounter are that they stick to my pans and I always have to cook them for at least 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Great muffins. Very tasty. I substitutes applesauce for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I used unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil and diced prunes instead of raisins, adding them in one muffin at a time...next time I will use more prunes. Instead of oat bran I used ground flax seed and I substituted rolling oats for the barley flour (because I didn't have any). These were really good...the highest fiber muffins I could find! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Nice high-fiber muffin recipe!! I susbstituted wheat bran and barley malt flour with a mixture of oat bran, quick-cooking oats and flaxseed. Also added a 1/4 cup of sugar, 1 tsp of vanilla extract, 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp cinnamon (instead of ginger). Oh, and used mashed bananas instead of raisins. Even with the additional sugar, the muffin wasn't very sweet. So, if you have a sweet tooth, I suggest adding more sugar. Definitely fill the muffin cup to almost full but don't overpile, or your muffins will overflow and stick to one another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
So delicious and plenty of fiber. I used soy milk and soy yogurt instead of dairy and the muffins were amazing. The mix looks a little wet after combination but that's what keeps it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
I love these muffins. They are a great way to add fiber to your diet. Only change I made was to substitute ground flax seed for the barley flour. These do make 12 muffins - just use a regular 12-muffin pan and really pile the batter in there! Let them go over the top - they don't rise at all when they bake, and when you are done, you'll have the perfect bakery-type muffins with the big tops. Trust me - I thought the same thing and made 24 muffins with this once, and they were like hockey pucks. I was dubious but my husband kept saying, just make 12 and pile it on! He was right! :) These also taste better, in my opinion, if you store them in the fridge. I like them much better cold! Thanks for a great healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
these turned out delicious! changed it a bit... after reading the reviews I decied to replace 1 cup bran with white flour to make them less dense (they're still plenty dense), I relpaced wheat germ with oats (very good decision!), and I added chopped walnuts and cinnamon. They are a great texture and not too dry. They'll be excellent for breakfast or quick snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I tried this recipe because I am making the change to whole foods. I went to the organic store and bought all the ingredients. As I was mixing it together it looked like a lot of flour for just 12 muffins. I have re-read the recipe over and over and I didn't do anything different but my muffins turned out horrible. They were dry and heavy. I love bran but this just did not turn out how I expected. I ended up with a lot of extra batter, even after filling up 12 muffin tins. They need something more. Mine were really dry. If I made this again I might cut the flour portions in half and add very moist fruit to make it more moist. I would probably add a little salt as well and maybe a little more honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
These muffins are great! - But as Fabricgirl said ther is something missing - Salt. The next time I try these muffins I will add 1/2 tsp salt. I made a couple of changes too. I used 2 cups of blueberries - WOW! and I didn't have the malt barley flour but I added a tablespoon of flaxseed. My husband really liked these muffins and he hates all things healthy. I almost forgot - with the additional cup of berries - the recipe yeilded 18 muffins. Thanks Jay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Pietrak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
these muffins were moist but tasteless, I even added a tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg to no avail. I had to trash the whole batch. don't waste your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States