Alan's Ultimate Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
These muffins turned out fantastic! I would definitely recommend them, especially if you're trying to up your fibre intake. I made some changes because I didn't have all the ingredients. -I used white flour instead of whole wheat -Omitted the barley malt stuff because I didn't have any -Used 2/3 cup of cane sugar instead of honey= sweeter! -Added 1 tsp of cinnamon -Used dried apricots, raisins, and dates about 1 1/4 cups total -used one mashed banana to replace one of the eggs ... And they're really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This is a great recipe. I added a chopped apple, some oats, and some flaxseed meal. I also added some ground cloves and nutmeg. This recipe has a great, full, bran flavor. I think it's neither too dense nor too fluffy, about right for bran muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
These were the best bran muffins I've tried, but the number and expense of the ingredients is a drawback. I doubled the batch to get 28 muffins, topped with nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This a great base bran muffin. They are hearty, which is what I look for in a bran muffin. We add plenty of frozen berries and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Excellent muffin recipe! Don't expect a cake-like texture - These are "true" whole grain muffins and have a dense texture. I added chopped dates along with the honey & raisins, and they came out surprisingly sweet. I followed the advice of the other reviewers to "pile-up" the batter in each tin, and came out with 12 large bakery style muffins (delicious). A DEFINATE KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Finally, real bran muffins. I used soymilk and soy yogurt, plus flax in place of the eggs. I didn't have malt flour so I used barley malt syrup--you can definately taste the flavor and it's a good thing. I got 24 regular sized muffins and 16 mini muffins, so it does make a fair bit more than the stated 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
So, these are awesome! And it uses no brown sugar etc. All healthy whole grains. I replaced the oil with applesauce, and flaxseed meal for the bulgar, I like them sweet, so I added 1/2 cup splenda, maybe just a smidge too much. I made 12 muffins, perfect size!! Pile it!!! The only thing is that mine too 30 min to cook. But well worth it. My daughter put 1/2 cup peanut butter/chocolate chocolate chips. Very moist...one day and almost all gone. Will absolutely make these probably atleast once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
So far, so good! Surprisingly, the ginger is not overwhelming in the taste. I followed the ingredient list until finding I had only 1/2 cup raisins, so added craisins to make up the difference. I also added 2-3 Tbl of natural sugar cane crystals since I like sweet muffins. I added all the wet ingredients to my food processor, beating the eggs in there, and then gradually added the dry mix. I followed one other reviewer's suggestion and piled the muffins high with batter. It still made 15 muffins. They were done just before 20 minutes were up, the toothpick test was clean, and they are moist even now 5 hours later. Definitely a "good and good for you" type of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I love these muffins, but they're even better with nuts. The only problems I encounter are that they stick to my pans and I always have to cook them for at least 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Great muffins. Very tasty. I substitutes applesauce for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States