Alan's Ultimate Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Excellent!! I didn't have barley malt flour and am not sure if it made a difference.Very tasty and good for you. This recipe is in my recipe box and they will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
If you're wanting a soft and sweet dessert muffin, this isn't the recipe for you. These muffins are only subtly sweet and definitely dense. Once or twice they've come out drier than I'd like. But the lack of sugariness is made up for in flavor complexity (especially if you toss in cranberries instead of raisins!) and they are really filling. Getting enough fiber is a challenge for me, since a lot of bran- and fiber-laden foods taste like sawdust, but this is a wholesome and tasty way to do it. I make these all the time, following the recipe almost exactly. Like I said, I sometimes throw in cranberries instead of raisins, or even mix them, and I always skip the malt barley flour. It's just not something I keep on hand, and I've found there's no significant difference in taste without it. Really excellent with a cup of strong coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Great recipe with lots of fiber! I used buttermilk in place of the milk and yogurt. Also used 1 tablespoon cinnamon and 1 tablespoon ginger. Turned out very moist with the buttermilk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
These muffins are pretty good. They are easy to make compared with typical bran muffins. I find them to be sweet enough, but they are definitely bland. Either a whole lot of spices or a fruity sauce like strawberry rhubarb might add some excellent flavor. Adding 2 cups blueberries instead of raisins was an excellent idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
The only changes I made was to add 1/4 cup of flax seen meal and I used vanilla yogurt instead of plain because that is what I had on hand. I also omitted the raisins because we don't like them. I thought it was the perfect sweetness with the vanilla yogurt, so if you are finding them not sweet enough, try that. They definitely do the job of cleaning out the system, which is why I think most of us seek these out. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This is a great bran muffin recipe. Exactly what I was looking for. Great source of fiber! The only thing I changed was I added 1/2 tsp salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
These are great healthy bran muffins! I omitted the oil and substituted 1/4c unsweetened applesauce instead, otherwise I left everything the same. I may try adding in some crushed pineapple or substituting 1/2 of the honey with molasses, but overall these are really good as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Great ingredients! Great taste! I'm looking for more recipes that are this health-conscious. I sprinkled a little cane sugar on top before I baked them, but we ate these up quickly! Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This is a really good, hearty, healthy muffin! Just the right amount of sweetness from the honey and raisins a bran muffin should have. This muffin has a very heavy dense texture and it didn't rise to much while baking. They are nice and moist too. The only thing I did differently was to cut back on the ginger. I put in 1 Tsp and it was still a little spicy (IMO). I think I'll leave it out all together next time. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This bran muffin recipe is the best I have ever had. This is the first time I have baked them. I was worried about them being dry but they are not. I like everything about them. I did add 1/2 tsp. salt and used dry cranberry's instead of raisins only because I like them better. I left out the barley malt flour because I did not want to buy a bag of it for just one Tbsp. They are so good I cannot imagine the Tbsp. of flour making them any better. Maybe I did not need the salt but I always feel like a small amount won't hurt anything. Thank you Alan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missqc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States