Alan's Ultimate Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This is an awesomely healthy breakfast muffin! I made these for my husband and I to take camping in Big Bend. They keep well in Tupperware, and kept us full and energized. I couldn't find barley malt flour, I'm curious to find out what it would have added to the flavor. I used coconut oil instead of vegetable and I used dried blueberries instead of raisins. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I absolutely love these healthy muffins and the ginger really is what makes them special. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Great hearty breakfast or anytime muffin. Full of good tasting bran too! I used maple syrup instead of honey and found them to be great. I thought they would be too sweet but found them to be perfect! Based on other reviews I cut the recipe by half and yielded 6 jumbo muffins. I'm going to add diced apple next time. Delicious and I'll absolutely make these again and again and again. Thanks JPW94!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was my first time making muffins - replaced raisins with craisins - turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALittleLeary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I've made a lot of healthy muffins in my day. I can't find a recipe that I'm totally in love with, but these were pretty good. They come out of the oven looking just about the same as when they went in. They tasted better after they had cooled. I used large golden raisins, and a t of vanilla since I was using plain yogurt. Instead of the ginger I used my homemade pumpkin pie spice. I halved the recipe & was expecting to make 6 muffins, but ended up with 12. They are hard to get out of the paper liners, so I would spray Pam in them next time. I also left out the Barley Malt Flour since I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Excellent. These muffins are very good, although they are dense, they are great for breakfast with OJ or coffee, or a mid-day snack. One of the best recipes I've found on this site thus far, would recommend to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
tried it without raisins, with raisins, and tonite made it with chopped apples. will probably try it with chopped pears and alter the spices to suit. it is a good base hi-fiber muffin that can be altered each time you make it. able to toss in walnuts and a bit of ground flax seed meal. tried it with nonfat sour cream instead of plain yogurt. tried it with yogurt too. it's really a good go-to kind of reliable recipe that can stand up to a lot of changes to suit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbreadmachine
Living In: Pearl River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Excellent!! I didn't have barley malt flour and am not sure if it made a difference.Very tasty and good for you. This recipe is in my recipe box and they will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
If you're wanting a soft and sweet dessert muffin, this isn't the recipe for you. These muffins are only subtly sweet and definitely dense. Once or twice they've come out drier than I'd like. But the lack of sugariness is made up for in flavor complexity (especially if you toss in cranberries instead of raisins!) and they are really filling. Getting enough fiber is a challenge for me, since a lot of bran- and fiber-laden foods taste like sawdust, but this is a wholesome and tasty way to do it. I make these all the time, following the recipe almost exactly. Like I said, I sometimes throw in cranberries instead of raisins, or even mix them, and I always skip the malt barley flour. It's just not something I keep on hand, and I've found there's no significant difference in taste without it. Really excellent with a cup of strong coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Great recipe with lots of fiber! I used buttermilk in place of the milk and yogurt. Also used 1 tablespoon cinnamon and 1 tablespoon ginger. Turned out very moist with the buttermilk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States