Alan's Ultimate Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Wonderful recipee!NOTHING to change! A meal in itself. Thanks for sharing??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Warfgv7:73$3).).(2;)4;3(:7)4;):.)73
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I make these wonderful muffins every two or three weeks. They are a bit too sweet for me so I use 1/3 c honey, 1/3 c molasses, and I add 2 tsp cinnamon, which goes well with the ginger. I also reduce the milk to 3/4 c to make the batter thick enough to use a release scoop (about 1/3 c) and flatten slightly to make breakfast cookies. I add lots of chopped walnuts and/or pecans and sometimes even coconut. I have never made this recipe using malted barley flour because I can't find it, but it's very good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I have been making this recipe for a couple of years and I follow all of it other than the barley malt flour (don't have it) and don't like raisins in the muffins, plus I reduce the honey by half. They are sweet enough with that amount for me. Usually I include 1/2 cup coconut and 1/2 cup walnuts in it for extra texture and flavor. They are very moist and will not venture to use any other bran muffin recipe. The last time I also included 1 tsp of cinnamon, very good. They are called "Super fibre bombs" in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I made a batch of these for a camping trip earlier this year and they turned out great! I couldn't find barley malt flour so I just left that out. I used dried blueberries instead of raisins. We ate a couple of these each morning and they gave us plenty of energy till lunch. Definitely a healthy and wholesome muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I absolutely love these healthy muffins and the ginger really is what makes them special. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Great hearty breakfast or anytime muffin. Full of good tasting bran too! I used maple syrup instead of honey and found them to be great. I thought they would be too sweet but found them to be perfect! Based on other reviews I cut the recipe by half and yielded 6 jumbo muffins. I'm going to add diced apple next time. Delicious and I'll absolutely make these again and again and again. Thanks JPW94!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was my first time making muffins - replaced raisins with craisins - turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALittleLeary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I've made a lot of healthy muffins in my day. I can't find a recipe that I'm totally in love with, but these were pretty good. They come out of the oven looking just about the same as when they went in. They tasted better after they had cooled. I used large golden raisins, and a t of vanilla since I was using plain yogurt. Instead of the ginger I used my homemade pumpkin pie spice. I halved the recipe & was expecting to make 6 muffins, but ended up with 12. They are hard to get out of the paper liners, so I would spray Pam in them next time. I also left out the Barley Malt Flour since I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Excellent. These muffins are very good, although they are dense, they are great for breakfast with OJ or coffee, or a mid-day snack. One of the best recipes I've found on this site thus far, would recommend to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States