Alan's Ultimate Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I have been making this recipe for a couple of years and I follow all of it other than the barley malt flour (don't have it) and don't like raisins in the muffins, plus I reduce the honey by half. They are sweet enough with that amount for me. Usually I include 1/2 cup coconut and 1/2 cup walnuts in it for extra texture and flavor. They are very moist and will not venture to use any other bran muffin recipe. The last time I also included 1 tsp of cinnamon, very good. They are called "Super fibre bombs" in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I made a batch of these for a camping trip earlier this year and they turned out great! I couldn't find barley malt flour so I just left that out. I used dried blueberries instead of raisins. We ate a couple of these each morning and they gave us plenty of energy till lunch. Definitely a healthy and wholesome muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I absolutely love these healthy muffins and the ginger really is what makes them special. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Great hearty breakfast or anytime muffin. Full of good tasting bran too! I used maple syrup instead of honey and found them to be great. I thought they would be too sweet but found them to be perfect! Based on other reviews I cut the recipe by half and yielded 6 jumbo muffins. I'm going to add diced apple next time. Delicious and I'll absolutely make these again and again and again. Thanks JPW94!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was my first time making muffins - replaced raisins with craisins - turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALittleLeary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I've made a lot of healthy muffins in my day. I can't find a recipe that I'm totally in love with, but these were pretty good. They come out of the oven looking just about the same as when they went in. They tasted better after they had cooled. I used large golden raisins, and a t of vanilla since I was using plain yogurt. Instead of the ginger I used my homemade pumpkin pie spice. I halved the recipe & was expecting to make 6 muffins, but ended up with 12. They are hard to get out of the paper liners, so I would spray Pam in them next time. I also left out the Barley Malt Flour since I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Excellent. These muffins are very good, although they are dense, they are great for breakfast with OJ or coffee, or a mid-day snack. One of the best recipes I've found on this site thus far, would recommend to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
tried it without raisins, with raisins, and tonite made it with chopped apples. will probably try it with chopped pears and alter the spices to suit. it is a good base hi-fiber muffin that can be altered each time you make it. able to toss in walnuts and a bit of ground flax seed meal. tried it with nonfat sour cream instead of plain yogurt. tried it with yogurt too. it's really a good go-to kind of reliable recipe that can stand up to a lot of changes to suit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecile Lin
Living In: Pearl River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Excellent!! I didn't have barley malt flour and am not sure if it made a difference.Very tasty and good for you. This recipe is in my recipe box and they will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
If you're wanting a soft and sweet dessert muffin, this isn't the recipe for you. These muffins are only subtly sweet and definitely dense. Once or twice they've come out drier than I'd like. But the lack of sugariness is made up for in flavor complexity (especially if you toss in cranberries instead of raisins!) and they are really filling. Getting enough fiber is a challenge for me, since a lot of bran- and fiber-laden foods taste like sawdust, but this is a wholesome and tasty way to do it. I make these all the time, following the recipe almost exactly. Like I said, I sometimes throw in cranberries instead of raisins, or even mix them, and I always skip the malt barley flour. It's just not something I keep on hand, and I've found there's no significant difference in taste without it. Really excellent with a cup of strong coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States