Alabama Mud Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This is so simple. I used semi sweet choc chips and dark sweet cherry pie filling. It was elegant. When placing the butter on top of the mixture make sure to slice paper thin, covering the entire surface of the pan. This way there is no cake mix on top that is unmixed. Serve with ice cream and the guests will talk about it forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I made this recipe almost according to the recipe. I used crushed pineapple in heavy syrup, I did drain some of the syrup. I could not find mint chips so I used caramel chips. I mixed the pecans and caramel in with the cake mix and then spread it on top the cherries. I then put the rest of the caramel and pecans on top of the cake mix. It turned out delicious!!! Easy to prepare and good for a big group. The group really enjoyed this!!!! I will make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I hate to leave bad reviews, but I made this for a Thanksgiving desert and not one liked it, not even the kids. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This was a very quick easy desert. It tasted like a rich brownie with a little cherry twiest. The only think I did differently was used milk chocolate chips because I couldn't find any mint ones at the grocery store. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Stanton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This has more of a "pudding cake" texture rather than one you could cut/slice into pieces. I went to two stores, neither of which had mint chocolate chips, so I used what I had on hand, semi-sweet chocolate chips. Another reviewer mentioned that some of the dry cake mix was still visible on top, so I sliced my butter into 12 slices hoping to get better coverage, but that didn't work either. Not wanting to add more butter (this dessert is decadent enough), I drizzled a little FF half-and-half (was in the fridge) over those spots, put back in the oven for five minutes, and that helped. The devils food cake was OK with us, and this cake is very easy to make, but we thought it was W-A-A-A-Y too sweet. Doubtful I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was VERY rich and I did not like the pineapple and chocolate together. I did not use the mint chocolate chips, either, thank goodness (used regular semi-chocolate chips instead). I can't imagine the combination of those flavors. When I was eating this, I felt like I was eating cake batter, that's how rich it was and it dissolved in my mouth. I had to cook this for another 10 minutes and I think it could have cooked a bit longer, but it was boiling over so I took it out. Afterwards I googled and found this is actually a variation of a dump cake which typically cooks for an hour. I like rich desserts, but this was just too much. I won't be making this again. My son wouldn't even touch the cake and he usually eats anything. I ended up throwing over half of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
its good but next time i will try yellow cake with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dareutruth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This was just STRANGE. I should have bailed on the mint chocolate chips, but I had some extra I wanted to use up, which was why I picked this recipe. It might have been better with regular chocolate chips, but still too sweet for me. I had to cook this for 10-15 min longer for it to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Made this for a picnic and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEORGESGIRL99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I thought that this cake was the best! i didnt put pecans and instead of mint chocolate chips, I put caramel and chocolate swirled chips and it was soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States