Al Kabsa - Traditional Saudi Rice and Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
this was very very good and very easy. I used boneless/skinless chicken thighs. I have Khabsa spice(which is a blend of all the above except for the lime leaf) so I used 3 tsp of it, and a bit extra allspice simply because we love the flavor. added some chick peas. this makes a lot which is great for feeding a group or for leftovers; however i knew this going in based on the amt. of rice. the ratio of liquid to rice was just perfect. The addition of raisins was really nice to get that occasional bite of sweet/savory. thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This recipe is really tasty, and I enjoyed it. I had some friends from Saudi Arabia in college, and when they made it, it was quite different. Same instructions, but they used cumin, maybe one other spice, unlike this one, and there was no carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gail giddings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This was very disappointing dish. It is very bland..blah. No real flavor to the dish Our Saudi exchange students were very disappointed in the lack of flavor as were we since we love middle eastern dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nbarazi
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This recipe was excellent and so easy to follow! My husband loves this dish and I have never made it so I chose this recipe and he loved it! Thank you!! Even though I changed some things I still give it 5 stars bc the base recipe is perfect. I made some minor changes based on how my husband likes it. Here's how I tweaked it: 1) I didn't use carrots 2) I used dried limes (black limes) instead of lime powder. I used about 10, rinsed with a fork poked in each one - delicious flavor! Found in middle eastern stores 3) I used white raisins not black 4) I used the tiniest bit of ginger and have no idea if it made a difference 5) for all the spices I went off the recipe but my mother in law uses heavy spices so instead of putting a "pinch" of the ones that called for it I put about 1/4 tspn, and for the rest I used the same amt but a heaping amt instead of a flat tspn amt.6) For garnish, I added toasted pinenuts and parsley (I added a picture). Overall everyone that ate it loved it!! I will definitely make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This is the easiest to follow recipe I have found for authentic Kabsa. I used pre-made Kabsa spice mix. I also added a handful of frozen peas and substituted pine nuts for the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Very delicious! I made it for the first time in my life and my wife went crazy over it and wouldn't stop eating! Thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rayyan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I am the chef at an international school in Bournemouth (UK) and I tried this recipe for my Arab students and they absolutely loved it, and so did all the others. It is now a favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by oranaise
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This recipe was AMAZING! AND it's authentic! I normally try a recipe exactly as written first time then go about adjusting it to to fit my taste. But I broke protocol this time. I grew up in Saudi but I've never made it on my own until now. In college here in the US I had a few Saudi and Emariti (UAE) friends who would whip this up late at night. And I would help prepare it. Here are my changes: 1] I sprinkled raw chicken drumsticks with turmeric which contains curcumin, a powerful anti-inflammatory and strong antioxidant. If you don't want to use saffron; turmeric, aka the "poor man's saffron" gives the chicken a nice yellow hue plus health benefits. 2] I added freshly grated ginger with the garlic. But this is a personal and regional preference (East Coast: Dhahran, KSA). 3] I used almost twice the amount of spices (except for the cinnamon) and whole dried lemon (loumi) instead of ground. 4] My mom's Saudi friend recommended removing the chicken once cooked in broth. I placed chicken in a pan in oven to brown while rice was cooking. 5] To make sure your rice doesn't get mushy, put a kitchen towel under the lid. This keeps the rice firm. I used Zebra brand Basmati (Pakistan). Next time, I'll also make shattah (hot sauce). THANK YOU very much, EmiratiWife2010 for an excellent dish! My family came to visit and they said it's the REAL DEAL. *EDIT: Please see photo of one serving. I garnished bowl with hot sauce, cilantro, yogurt (Byblos) and toasted almonds.*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oranaise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
My Arab hubby lived this dish, and I had never even tried it, let alone cooked it! I did add fried potato rounds to the recipe, as well as Goya sazon packets mixed with the arabic spice blend hubby brought from back home. When it was time for the rice, I layered the pan like a maqluba, with potatoes and chicken, then the rice and liquid....was very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Werner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoCortinacooks
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
after making my spanish chicken and rice recipe, I was very happy to make this this with the different seasoning. I've really enjoyed all the spices. And found it delightful 2 put this meal together. I even added a picture to show. The spice profile was different from my background, but I found it to be something to be treasures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States