Al Capone Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This is a family favorite!! I make this for a friend every time he deploys with the military, it's his last meal before going over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I made this for my Wife and my Daughter came over with my Grandson, and all of them really enjoyed it. my Daughter asked me for the recipe so I printed it out for her. My Wife said I am welcome to make something new every week if it is going to be this good. I followed the recipe almost exactly with the exception of the mushroom and olive, I used an 8oz tub of fresh mushrooms ( sliced very thin) and a whole 6oz can of black olives otherwise exact quantities. I will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
My mom shopped in the North End when I was young and would order the pork "Al Capone Special" ... it was so sad that they didn't re-open the shop after the fire.. my mom still makes this (from memory) for special occassions... It's a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn Mahoney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Bear Township, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This is very creative and different. The first time I made it, it was a little salty, so I just cut down on the amount of the layered items (prosciutto & mortadella, mozz). Fabulous flavors in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Awesome roast for a quick weeknight meal or a busy Sunday.My husband isn't a fan of olives but he said he didn't even taste them and that it was tasty. Warning: If you don't like prosciutto,mortadella and olives I'd say stay away from this recipe and look for something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This is excellent and has become a family favorite!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I made this recipe for the first time for 6 people and it was a huge hit. Everyone wanted the recipe when they left and were still talking about it the next day. I omitted the olives and mushrooms and do not feel they were missed. I also substituted garlic powder for fresh minced garlic and really rubbed it into the meat. All of my cast iron skillets have rubber handles that I did not want to put into the oven. So I seared the roast on the stove, then put it into a Pyrex (2 qt) that I "Pammed" first. I was nervous that this would affect the cooking time but it was perfect to the minute. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
The family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Absolutely gross! Not even fit for the dogs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

How to Trim and Tie a Roast

Watch the quickest, best way to trim and tie a roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States