Al Capone Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This sounded like it was going to be great, but it was just kind of weird. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
What a terrable thing to do to a flank steak!! It sound good , but that is not how it ended up. Tried this again just incase I screwed up..still not good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHADOWS1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
My husband tried this recipe and it came out delicous. He found it very easy to prepare. Instead of using garlic powder next time he will try fresh garlic. He may also try using hot green olives next time too. The family liked this one very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
This was ok....I guess it just wasn't for us. All the same ....thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
It tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
I will never make this one again! It was bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I'm still new to cooking so this may have beeen a little too tricky for me to attempt. But since my father used to work for Al Capone (the butcher) when he was a young man I had to give it a try. Thanks for the wonderful recipe and memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foxboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Absolutely gross! Not even fit for the dogs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
The family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I made this recipe for the first time for 6 people and it was a huge hit. Everyone wanted the recipe when they left and were still talking about it the next day. I omitted the olives and mushrooms and do not feel they were missed. I also substituted garlic powder for fresh minced garlic and really rubbed it into the meat. All of my cast iron skillets have rubber handles that I did not want to put into the oven. So I seared the roast on the stove, then put it into a Pyrex (2 qt) that I "Pammed" first. I was nervous that this would affect the cooking time but it was perfect to the minute. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States