Al Capone Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This is a family favorite!! I make this for a friend every time he deploys with the military, it's his last meal before going over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I made this for my Wife and my Daughter came over with my Grandson, and all of them really enjoyed it. my Daughter asked me for the recipe so I printed it out for her. My Wife said I am welcome to make something new every week if it is going to be this good. I followed the recipe almost exactly with the exception of the mushroom and olive, I used an 8oz tub of fresh mushrooms ( sliced very thin) and a whole 6oz can of black olives otherwise exact quantities. I will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
My mom shopped in the North End when I was young and would order the pork "Al Capone Special" ... it was so sad that they didn't re-open the shop after the fire.. my mom still makes this (from memory) for special occassions... It's a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn Mahoney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Bear Township, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This is very creative and different. The first time I made it, it was a little salty, so I just cut down on the amount of the layered items (prosciutto & mortadella, mozz). Fabulous flavors in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Awesome roast for a quick weeknight meal or a busy Sunday.My husband isn't a fan of olives but he said he didn't even taste them and that it was tasty. Warning: If you don't like prosciutto,mortadella and olives I'd say stay away from this recipe and look for something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This is excellent and has become a family favorite!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I made this recipe for the first time for 6 people and it was a huge hit. Everyone wanted the recipe when they left and were still talking about it the next day. I omitted the olives and mushrooms and do not feel they were missed. I also substituted garlic powder for fresh minced garlic and really rubbed it into the meat. All of my cast iron skillets have rubber handles that I did not want to put into the oven. So I seared the roast on the stove, then put it into a Pyrex (2 qt) that I "Pammed" first. I was nervous that this would affect the cooking time but it was perfect to the minute. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
The family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Absolutely gross! Not even fit for the dogs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States