Ajiaco (Beef and Pepper Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Family and friends loved this recipe. Served it with cornbread. It was just excellent. I'd tell you that the leftovers were even better with the flavors infused over 24 hours but each time I make it, there are never any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This was a great way to use up leftover roast beef. My first time cooking with shallots which add a nice subtle flavor. All I had on hand was regular chile powder, but I bet with the chipotle chile powder this stew would rock! We tried this with the parsley, but have found we prefer serving it with chopped cilantro. I thickened it slightly...just our preference. Very yummy alternative to traditional beef stew. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Fourche, South Dakota, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Unlike many others I followed the recipe exactly and loved it. The next time, though,I won't add the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Weber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Wow, what flavors! We grow our own Poblano peppers and had some red ones on the vine (they get quite hot when they ripen on the vine). Used the equivalent of 2 red bell peppers as the only substitute in this recipe. Turned out fantastic! Quite spicy and full of flavor. I suggest everyone try poblanos in this recipe (if you have mild ones, add some hot chiles along with them). Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
My husband loved this soup and so did I. I made a Pepperoncini roast in the crockpot the night before and used the leftovers for this soup. It added a nice blend of flavors. This recipe made a lot for two people so we had it twice and I froze a single portion for a lunch sometime in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by realaloha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This stew had so much potential! It had all the right ingredients, and it smelled SO good while cooking. Yet, when I ate it for dinner, it was just missing something...not sure what. Maybe add some more spices next time? I also felt it needed thickening.. it didn't live up to my expectations. I will try it again and experiment a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Very good. I will use more vegetables next time thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I tried this in a crock pot and it came out watery. Next time I'll try as written with less broth and work up a roux to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
We really enjoyed this. I did cut back on the chipotle though a lil' bit. We like spice just not over spicey. I used both red & green peppers. I topped w green onions diced. Enjoyed and will use it again. I think perhaps next time I too will try w london broil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Dubuque, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bernard, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I didn't follow this recipe exactly. I wanted to make this, but didn't have any roast beef, so I browned cubed stewing beef, removed that from the pot, then followed the recipe. Because it was stewing beef I had to simmer it for quite awhile to tenderize it. I didn't add potatoes. The flavours were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States