Ajiaco (Beef and Pepper Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Family and friends loved this recipe. Served it with cornbread. It was just excellent. I'd tell you that the leftovers were even better with the flavors infused over 24 hours but each time I make it, there are never any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Oh baby we liked this. Will cut back on the chipatle a little next time. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Wonderful flavour and a great way to use leftover herb roasted sirloin beef from this site. I only had 2 cups leftover beef and chicken broth in the house and it still tasted yummy. I will make it again using less liqued as we like our stew thicker.I Sauteed the veggies and transferred all of the ingredients to the slow cooker. On high for 4 hours.Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
We really enjoyed this.....I cut a london broil into chuncks, browned it sauted my shallots and peppers....then put it in the crock pot...this worked out so well...next ime I think I will add more veggies...thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Wow, what flavors! We grow our own Poblano peppers and had some red ones on the vine (they get quite hot when they ripen on the vine). Used the equivalent of 2 red bell peppers as the only substitute in this recipe. Turned out fantastic! Quite spicy and full of flavor. I suggest everyone try poblanos in this recipe (if you have mild ones, add some hot chiles along with them). Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Unlike many others I followed the recipe exactly and loved it. The next time, though,I won't add the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Weber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I didn't follow this recipe exactly. I wanted to make this, but didn't have any roast beef, so I browned cubed stewing beef, removed that from the pot, then followed the recipe. Because it was stewing beef I had to simmer it for quite awhile to tenderize it. I didn't add potatoes. The flavours were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Very good. I will use more vegetables next time thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
My husband loved this soup and so did I. I made a Pepperoncini roast in the crockpot the night before and used the leftovers for this soup. It added a nice blend of flavors. This recipe made a lot for two people so we had it twice and I froze a single portion for a lunch sometime in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by realaloha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This was a great way to use up leftover roast beef. My first time cooking with shallots which add a nice subtle flavor. All I had on hand was regular chile powder, but I bet with the chipotle chile powder this stew would rock! We tried this with the parsley, but have found we prefer serving it with chopped cilantro. I thickened it slightly...just our preference. Very yummy alternative to traditional beef stew. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Fourche, South Dakota, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States