Ajiaco (Beef and Pepper Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Oh baby we liked this. Will cut back on the chipatle a little next time. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Wonderful flavour and a great way to use leftover herb roasted sirloin beef from this site. I only had 2 cups leftover beef and chicken broth in the house and it still tasted yummy. I will make it again using less liqued as we like our stew thicker.I Sauteed the veggies and transferred all of the ingredients to the slow cooker. On high for 4 hours.Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
We really enjoyed this.....I cut a london broil into chuncks, browned it sauted my shallots and peppers....then put it in the crock pot...this worked out so well...next ime I think I will add more veggies...thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I didn't follow this recipe exactly. I wanted to make this, but didn't have any roast beef, so I browned cubed stewing beef, removed that from the pot, then followed the recipe. Because it was stewing beef I had to simmer it for quite awhile to tenderize it. I didn't add potatoes. The flavours were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
We really enjoyed this. I did cut back on the chipotle though a lil' bit. We like spice just not over spicey. I used both red & green peppers. I topped w green onions diced. Enjoyed and will use it again. I think perhaps next time I too will try w london broil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Dubuque, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bernard, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I tried this in a crock pot and it came out watery. Next time I'll try as written with less broth and work up a roux to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Very good. I will use more vegetables next time thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This stew had so much potential! It had all the right ingredients, and it smelled SO good while cooking. Yet, when I ate it for dinner, it was just missing something...not sure what. Maybe add some more spices next time? I also felt it needed thickening.. it didn't live up to my expectations. I will try it again and experiment a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
My husband loved this soup and so did I. I made a Pepperoncini roast in the crockpot the night before and used the leftovers for this soup. It added a nice blend of flavors. This recipe made a lot for two people so we had it twice and I froze a single portion for a lunch sometime in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by realaloha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Wow, what flavors! We grow our own Poblano peppers and had some red ones on the vine (they get quite hot when they ripen on the vine). Used the equivalent of 2 red bell peppers as the only substitute in this recipe. Turned out fantastic! Quite spicy and full of flavor. I suggest everyone try poblanos in this recipe (if you have mild ones, add some hot chiles along with them). Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States