Airport Bob's Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
The last laugh is on me....I just fixed these on a whim because I had everything on hand and trying to use up part of a bag of frozen green beans. Actually, I thought the recipe sounded rather "icky" but was I ever WRONG ! These are the BEST !! Usually I go for lemony flavors on veggies, etc., but Airport Bob's Green Beans are OUT OF THIS WORLD ! I used peppered bacon. I've already shared the recipe with two other foodies. SCRUMPTIOUS !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Motorhomegal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
These were delicious!! My whole family loved them. I used fresh green beans and actually steamed them with a steamer pot instead of boiling in water and they turned out perfect. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Very similar to mine. But, I fry the bacon in a pan, until golden brown and crispy. I set the cooked bacon on the side and drain on a paper towel. I then brown the green beans in the bacon grease, adding garlic and season salt to taste, stirring occasionally until tender. Adding a few cloves of chopped fresh garlic and crushed bacon over top toward the last few minutes. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Bresler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I don't know how to cook and I'm working on window trim while my wife is out of town and I've picked these home grown green beans a day or two ago. So, I thought I'd learn how to steam them and came across this recipe. I find all the ingredients in her kitchen except only seem to have pre-cooked bacon and you know the paint can is open and I can't run to the store. So I forge ahead. The beans must have been past their prime, 'cause I had to steam them much much longer than you guys, giving me time to prime the woodwork even. So, it all comes together and doesn't look nearly as green as the photograph, so I guess I oversteamed them. But boy does it taste GOOD. Can't imagine how good it would have been if a real cook had done it. I might even save some for my wife. I think I've found another hobby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I cooked the sugar misture too long and it got hard as a rock. I put it aside and when I reheated it, it melted nicely. It got rave reviews at my house! (I don't usually cook things too long!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I used fresh green beans. These were very tasty but I just couldn't get beyond the fact that I was eating all that butter and sugar. But everyone gobbled them up - kinda like eating candied veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Green beans are my favorite vegetable. Now I have a new way to eat them. This recipe is very simple and absolutley delicious. Do not change a thing; they're PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Sometimes these really simple recipes do not deliver, but this one does. I was pleasantly surprised at how good this dish was. We included it in our Thanksgiving menu as we needed a vegetable side dish, but we did not want to increase the cooking load too much. This was really easy to prepare, delicious, and my kids loved it too. Tough to go wrong with butter, brown sugar and bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
if you like sweet flavor in your green beans, this is the perfect recipe! the sauce was awesome. i used fresh green beans steamed for about 10-15 minutes, instead of frozen. only change i made. boyfriend didn't care for the sweet flavor, but i thought it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nellie Fiorenzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herrin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
When it's my niece's turn to fix dinner she always makes these...very easy, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comfort, Texas, USA
Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States