Airport Bob's Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I don't know how to cook and I'm working on window trim while my wife is out of town and I've picked these home grown green beans a day or two ago. So, I thought I'd learn how to steam them and came across this recipe. I find all the ingredients in her kitchen except only seem to have pre-cooked bacon and you know the paint can is open and I can't run to the store. So I forge ahead. The beans must have been past their prime, 'cause I had to steam them much much longer than you guys, giving me time to prime the woodwork even. So, it all comes together and doesn't look nearly as green as the photograph, so I guess I oversteamed them. But boy does it taste GOOD. Can't imagine how good it would have been if a real cook had done it. I might even save some for my wife. I think I've found another hobby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Really tasty side dish. I used fresh green beans, stir-fried them so they're still crispy, then added the bacon-brown sugar mix. Adding some black pepper and chilli oil made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This side dish is beyond words! I made this dish for dinner last night and both hubby and I devoured it. I did not make any changes to it - it is just a simple recipe full of flavor. Will definitely be making this again. Can't wait to share with family and friends....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Very Yummy. I forgot to get the right green beans so I had to use French cut out of a can. I doubled it. It was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
The best! I usually skip the bacon and it is still so good. A major hit when I bring for holidays even the little kids gobble them up forgetting that it's green. I always use fresh green beans but that is preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These beans were delicious for something totally different than we normally eat, even my kids loved them. I used turkey bacon b/c I had that on hand. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
These are really good. They are a little bit sweet for me, but the bacon offsets the sweetness. I also added a lot of black pepper, per usual. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I LOVE this recipe and so did my family. It's and easy and fast side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
i must have done something terribly wrong... mine turned out to be just awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is an awesome way to get the kids to eat green beans. They are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States