Airport Bob's Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I make NO changes to this recipe this is the the 3rd year I've made it for Thanksgiving at Church, and all ways give the recipe to some one. It is great..Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was a hit on Thanksgiving. The only thing I have to change is the directions for the bacon. Everyone wished the bacon was crispy but the directions said not to cook til crispy. I thought it would crisp up in the butter/sugar mixture but it didn't. So next time, I'll top the beans with crispy bacon before serving. I also didn't use thick cut bacon but I will next time. I think it would be better with thicker bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Yum! I used turkey bacon cooked in the microwave and half the butter. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Pretty good. Hubby thought there was too much meat. Friend thought they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is the best...without a doubt! My mom hates the standard Green Bean casseroles from the holidays, tried this on her, & she pretty much ate ONLY this...and wouldn't let anyone else have seconds! I now make this alot for her! Sorry I forgot to rate this earlier. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idonotlikegrneggsnhm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Delicious! Just enough sweet to make my kids happy and just enough good stuff to make me happy giving it to them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimistry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Not what I call an ideal side dish of green beans. Has a totally different taste than I'm use to. In my opinion, sweet and green beans don't mix very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Sometimes these really simple recipes do not deliver, but this one does. I was pleasantly surprised at how good this dish was. We included it in our Thanksgiving menu as we needed a vegetable side dish, but we did not want to increase the cooking load too much. This was really easy to prepare, delicious, and my kids loved it too. Tough to go wrong with butter, brown sugar and bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
When it's my niece's turn to fix dinner she always makes these...very easy, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comfort, Texas, USA
Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I don't know how to cook and I'm working on window trim while my wife is out of town and I've picked these home grown green beans a day or two ago. So, I thought I'd learn how to steam them and came across this recipe. I find all the ingredients in her kitchen except only seem to have pre-cooked bacon and you know the paint can is open and I can't run to the store. So I forge ahead. The beans must have been past their prime, 'cause I had to steam them much much longer than you guys, giving me time to prime the woodwork even. So, it all comes together and doesn't look nearly as green as the photograph, so I guess I oversteamed them. But boy does it taste GOOD. Can't imagine how good it would have been if a real cook had done it. I might even save some for my wife. I think I've found another hobby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States