Aioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
No matter how much I whisked and no matter the food processor I could not get the base to be "light and creamy." Creamy it was, light it wasn't. I ended up using store mayo with the lemon, garlic, salt, and pepper added, which is likely what I will do anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
There was too much olive oil and it tasted of raw egg. I followed the recipe precisely, and used a hand mixer but the consistency was not one of a creamy Aioli. I definitely think the ingredient portions are off somewhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This recipe, as is, has zero flavor. its literally like eating mayo outta the jar. but! i fixed it. i added: 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper 1/2 pureed red bell pepper 1/4 tsp louisiana hot sauce a little extra lemon juice. it saved it woooh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I hated this recipe. I made it twice back to back to try and get a better flavor but YUCK. The garlic was WAY too strong in the first batch (4 cloves). And the second bath was bland even after I added a lot of sale and cayenne pepper. I think I would be better off just jazz-ing up some mayo next time...lol. I wanted to try it to make it from scratch, but failed on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I liked the way the Aioli came out. I used an expensive brand of first-cold-pressed-EVOO (Extra Virgin Olive Oil). Any other olive oil may overwhelm the recipe. I used a garlic press which presses out the oils and sweet part of the garlic clove while retaining the bitter parts . I also chilled the bowl and beaters (I used and electric hand egg beater this time). I am able to buy pasturized eggs at a local grocery store, which is much safer when eating raw eggs - no fear of salmonella. Next time I think I will try an electric hand (stick) blender with the round-flat whipping blade attached.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is very good. My mom suggests adding: 1 tablespoon sweet paprika 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper 1/4 teaspoon hot pepper sauce, such as Tabasco This will make it a little bit spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is very good!! The best way to make alioli is using a blender. Mix the eggs, garlic and salt in the blender for a few seconds and then start adding the oil in a fine stream with the blender runing (don't stop it). When the desired consistency is adquired add the lemon juice. It will be ready in less than 6 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I followed the recipe and it turned out fine but it didnt taste that good, I personally felt like it was missing something important, not sure what though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Took another reviewer's reccommendation to cut the recipe in half and that was plenty for several sandwiches. We like lots of garlic, so we used a garlic infused olive oil. It was easier than I thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I don't know if there is something I was missing here but this was not to our liking. Consistency and taste was not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Aioli

Turn regular mayo into a versatile, zesty sauce for so many favorite foods.

Chef John's Tarragon Aioli

See how to make real aioli flavored with fresh tarragon and plenty of garlic.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States