Aioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was really good! I didn't chill the olive oil, and just whisked the ingredients with a fork -- it turned out perfectly with a nice creamy consistency. I did add a bit more garlic than called for, and also a titch of honey -- just my own personal preferences. My husband said it was the best aioli I have made yet. It was very nice on cold smoked salmon. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I halved the recipe because I just wanted to try it first and use it with sandwiches. It turned out perfectly delicious. I had no problems with the consistency and the flavor was good. I spread it on two pieces of bread, added my meat, topped with pepper jack cheese, and put it in the broiler. When I took it out I added some lettuce and tomato and put it back in the broiler to toast both sides of the bread (flipped it). I thought it was wonderful as far as sandwiches go. I will definitely make this again and try with more of a meal recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
No matter how much I whisked and no matter the food processor I could not get the base to be "light and creamy." Creamy it was, light it wasn't. I ended up using store mayo with the lemon, garlic, salt, and pepper added, which is likely what I will do anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
There was too much olive oil and it tasted of raw egg. I followed the recipe precisely, and used a hand mixer but the consistency was not one of a creamy Aioli. I definitely think the ingredient portions are off somewhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This recipe, as is, has zero flavor. its literally like eating mayo outta the jar. but! i fixed it. i added: 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper 1/2 pureed red bell pepper 1/4 tsp louisiana hot sauce a little extra lemon juice. it saved it woooh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I hated this recipe. I made it twice back to back to try and get a better flavor but YUCK. The garlic was WAY too strong in the first batch (4 cloves). And the second bath was bland even after I added a lot of sale and cayenne pepper. I think I would be better off just jazz-ing up some mayo next time...lol. I wanted to try it to make it from scratch, but failed on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I liked the way the Aioli came out. I used an expensive brand of first-cold-pressed-EVOO (Extra Virgin Olive Oil). Any other olive oil may overwhelm the recipe. I used a garlic press which presses out the oils and sweet part of the garlic clove while retaining the bitter parts . I also chilled the bowl and beaters (I used and electric hand egg beater this time). I am able to buy pasturized eggs at a local grocery store, which is much safer when eating raw eggs - no fear of salmonella. Next time I think I will try an electric hand (stick) blender with the round-flat whipping blade attached.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Gomen Diaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is very good. My mom suggests adding: 1 tablespoon sweet paprika 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper 1/4 teaspoon hot pepper sauce, such as Tabasco This will make it a little bit spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is very good!! The best way to make alioli is using a blender. Mix the eggs, garlic and salt in the blender for a few seconds and then start adding the oil in a fine stream with the blender runing (don't stop it). When the desired consistency is adquired add the lemon juice. It will be ready in less than 6 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I followed the recipe and it turned out fine but it didnt taste that good, I personally felt like it was missing something important, not sure what though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Aioli

Turn regular mayo into a versatile, zesty sauce for so many favorite foods.

Chef John's Tarragon Aioli

See how to make real aioli flavored with fresh tarragon and plenty of garlic.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States