Aioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I make mine in the food processor.. i throw the garlic cloves in and "mince" them.. then add the egg, salt, pepper.. let it mix. Now when making this is is crucial that you add the oil veeeeery slowly with just a tiny stream.. Do not stop in the middle, keep adding the oil until it is gone at the same pace. When it is set add the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Works best with room temperature eggs; additionally, when using a food processor or blender use one yolk and one whole egg. Dash in some of the lemon juice, add eggs, 2 tablespoons of the oil, salt and peppers and then blend until bound. Then add the rest of the ingredients and blend for two minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This is a terrible recepie for aioli! I've done aioli from scratch many times and never failed. Now I wanted to try a new recepie and tried this. To "mince" the garlic is not a good idea and besides its far to much garlic! It should be made in a food processor with half the garlic, and I am truly a garlic lover. When I then read the reviews a lot of people who gave it 5 stars totally alterered the recepie and used a blender or food processor, less garlic and added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This did not work out for me & I have no idea why. I mixed this for a very long time (probably 20 mins in total) and it was still runny. I tried mixing it when it was cold & also tried adding another egg yolk, still too runny :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I love the basic overview of the recipe, however, I agree with the other reviewers....the garlic is sooo0o overwhelming it stings. I also ultimately added mayo and more lemon in attempts to combat the pungent flavor. I will make this again, but I think perhaps I will half and saute the garlic to give the aioli a more subtle taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
THIS WAS not to my liking! I've had awesome Aioli before and this was nothing like it. My boyfriend and I LOVE garlic and this just had way too much. Other recipes like it have just one clove . . . maybe they are onto something. I don't know I just know that this was awful. I tried adding it with mayo and everything but it just wasn't good. I tried to like this recipe but I just couldn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saritah Helms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I made this and it was super easy. I used an electric whisk. Perfect kick to a regular sandwich or Panini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This aioli didn't turn out the way I had anticipated (consistency-wise) but served as a pretty decent condiment for toasted bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was really good! I didn't chill the olive oil, and just whisked the ingredients with a fork -- it turned out perfectly with a nice creamy consistency. I did add a bit more garlic than called for, and also a titch of honey -- just my own personal preferences. My husband said it was the best aioli I have made yet. It was very nice on cold smoked salmon. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I halved the recipe because I just wanted to try it first and use it with sandwiches. It turned out perfectly delicious. I had no problems with the consistency and the flavor was good. I spread it on two pieces of bread, added my meat, topped with pepper jack cheese, and put it in the broiler. When I took it out I added some lettuce and tomato and put it back in the broiler to toast both sides of the bread (flipped it). I thought it was wonderful as far as sandwiches go. I will definitely make this again and try with more of a meal recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garlic Aioli

Turn regular mayo into a versatile, zesty sauce for so many favorite foods.

Chef John's Tarragon Aioli

See how to make real aioli flavored with fresh tarragon and plenty of garlic.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States