Aioli (Garlic Mayonnaise) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Delicious! If you read the other reviews that said this didn't "set" then they probably made one or both of these mistakes: The blender you use to make the mayonnaise must be COMPLETELY, UTTERLY DRY. Only make this recipe if you haven't used your blender for at least a day and it's totally air-dried. Also, you must add the oil to the blender at a very, very slow drizzle to get the mayonnaise to set up properly. Do these two things and your mayonnaise will come out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I had a hard time getting this to set, but I have a feeling that was my problem not the recipes. I was finally able to get the correct consistency by adding the "ruined" oil to another egg yolk and pouring the oil in so slow it couldn't even be considered a trickle. That did the trick however and the final product was quite good. I served it with grilled artichokes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
My friend in Valencia Spain taught me to make this wonderful aioli. I make it on Thanksgiving to serve over halved, scored, oven baked potatoes, sprinkled with olive oil and paprika. Add this sauce and the potatoes are delightful. My entire family waits anxiously for aioli & potatoes on Thanksgiving...and all are hoping there's some they can take home. I now make each family a container of aioli. I wasn't taught to use the mustard, but was taught the egg yolk must be room temperature, and to use several cloves garlic...for a "zip" in the taste. I was also taught to use a submersive mixer...or whatever that gadget is called...that comes with it's own mixing cup. When made as Puri taught me...this recipe deserves 5 stars. Grandma Pam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I like it a LOT! I put a shallow metal bowl on a dish cloth draped over a larger bowl. Much easier to whisk. The bowl was DRY and the yolk room temperature. The dijon mustard, lemon juice, salt & 1/4 t paprika was whisked first, then the SLOW (this is absolutely essential--I probably whisked, very quickly, for 6 minutes or so) process of whisking the oil in, which worked *great*! At the end, I put in 1 t horseradish for more bite, paprika, and 4 cloves of garlic crushed, minced and pounded. Tomorrow, I will adjust seasonings and strain. mmm! I'm surprised I haven't seen this dip with yam 'fries' which is one of my favourites to order at a restaurant. I dunno what they put in it, but I think I'm getting closer! ps if your mayo 'separates' (tastes like yucky oil and is lumpy) don't throw it away! Get a new bowl, a new yolk with some seasoning and whisk it. Now pour in (VERY SLOWLY!!!) your ruined mayo very patiently and wha-la!! your mayo comes together beautifully ';-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
My husband went nuts over this recipe, it was incredible with crab cakes. We ate it ALL at dinner with just us two! I read all the reviews and suggestions...egg yolk at room temperature, add paprika, increased raw garlic to 4 cloves. I would add that I would run the garlic thru a press for the most garlic flavor. Also, this tastes very different alone as opposed to with food. Don't discount it until you accompany it with shrimp, salmon croquettes or crabcakes. Next time, I will add chives, fresh basil and some herbies, too lazy to wander to the garden today: November 1 and 90 degrees in Tucson, AZ! Thanks to all for suggestions and LIANNEF for a great recipe! UPDATE: I just made my Salmon Cakes and for the sauce here I doubled this recipe with 2 egg yolks, 2 teaspoons of dijon mustard, and then added 4 giant cloves of fresh garlic, but STILL only put in 1 cup of EVOO. Lemon juice ended up at 1 Tablespoon; I added the 1/2 teaspoon of Giant Kosher Salt Flakes while whipping the Aioli. At the end, added Freshly Ground Black Pepper on top to taste, a splash of olive oil and toasted pine nuts. YUMMY! No paprika. Enjoy it, we keep it in the frig for other seafood for up to 2 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
It came out perfect. Although I added a little more oil, it was so thick.and also added extra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I can't rate this recipe although I love aioli and I will try it soon..I have a question however....Husband and I dined at a new restaurant and ordered "fried olives" (believe it or not! They were terrific!) served with aioli. Our server told me that the aioli was made with egg white.. anyone ever heard of this? if so please submit your recipe..thanks, Lala
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Tweaked by less oil (about half),double the dijon and garlic, used lime juice and seasoned with salt, cracked pepper and a couple of pinches of sugar just to balance the taste. Fabulous consistency even hand whisked. Everyone loved it, used as a dip and a salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twilli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I used this recipe and added some fresh Tarragon. I then used it as a dipping sauce for fresh deepfried Artichoke hearts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This recipe required a bit more lemon juice and salt than I expected, but it's SO worth the testing. Served it over crab cakes and it was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Aioli

Turn regular mayo into a versatile, zesty sauce for so many favorite foods.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Chef John's Tarragon Aioli

See how to make real aioli flavored with fresh tarragon and plenty of garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States