Aioli (Garlic Mayonnaise) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Delicious! If you read the other reviews that said this didn't "set" then they probably made one or both of these mistakes: The blender you use to make the mayonnaise must be COMPLETELY, UTTERLY DRY. Only make this recipe if you haven't used your blender for at least a day and it's totally air-dried. Also, you must add the oil to the blender at a very, very slow drizzle to get the mayonnaise to set up properly. Do these two things and your mayonnaise will come out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I like it a LOT! I put a shallow metal bowl on a dish cloth draped over a larger bowl. Much easier to whisk. The bowl was DRY and the yolk room temperature. The dijon mustard, lemon juice, salt & 1/4 t paprika was whisked first, then the SLOW (this is absolutely essential--I probably whisked, very quickly, for 6 minutes or so) process of whisking the oil in, which worked *great*! At the end, I put in 1 t horseradish for more bite, paprika, and 4 cloves of garlic crushed, minced and pounded. Tomorrow, I will adjust seasonings and strain. mmm! I'm surprised I haven't seen this dip with yam 'fries' which is one of my favourites to order at a restaurant. I dunno what they put in it, but I think I'm getting closer! ps if your mayo 'separates' (tastes like yucky oil and is lumpy) don't throw it away! Get a new bowl, a new yolk with some seasoning and whisk it. Now pour in (VERY SLOWLY!!!) your ruined mayo very patiently and wha-la!! your mayo comes together beautifully ';-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
My friend in Valencia Spain taught me to make this wonderful aioli. I make it on Thanksgiving to serve over halved, scored, oven baked potatoes, sprinkled with olive oil and paprika. Add this sauce and the potatoes are delightful. My entire family waits anxiously for aioli & potatoes on Thanksgiving...and all are hoping there's some they can take home. I now make each family a container of aioli. I wasn't taught to use the mustard, but was taught the egg yolk must be room temperature, and to use several cloves garlic...for a "zip" in the taste. I was also taught to use a submersive mixer...or whatever that gadget is called...that comes with it's own mixing cup. When made as Puri taught me...this recipe deserves 5 stars. Grandma Pam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
My husband went nuts over this recipe, it was incredible with crab cakes. We ate it ALL at dinner with just us two! I read all the reviews and suggestions...egg yolk at room temperature, add paprika, increased raw garlic to 4 cloves. I would add that I would run the garlic thru a press for the most garlic flavor. Also, this tastes very different alone as opposed to with food. Don't discount it until you accompany it with shrimp, salmon croquettes or crabcakes. Next time, I will add chives, fresh basil and some herbies, too lazy to wander to the garden today: November 1 and 90 degrees in Tucson, AZ! Thanks to all for suggestions and LIANNEF for a great recipe! UPDATE: I just made my Salmon Cakes and for the sauce here I doubled this recipe with 2 egg yolks, 2 teaspoons of dijon mustard, and then added 4 giant cloves of fresh garlic, but STILL only put in 1 cup of EVOO. Lemon juice ended up at 1 Tablespoon; I added the 1/2 teaspoon of Giant Kosher Salt Flakes while whipping the Aioli. At the end, added Freshly Ground Black Pepper on top to taste, a splash of olive oil and toasted pine nuts. YUMMY! No paprika. Enjoy it, we keep it in the frig for other seafood for up to 2 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Tweaked by less oil (about half),double the dijon and garlic, used lime juice and seasoned with salt, cracked pepper and a couple of pinches of sugar just to balance the taste. Fabulous consistency even hand whisked. Everyone loved it, used as a dip and a salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twilli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I found this recipe easy to make in my blender the first time. The second time I used a different blender and tried two batches--to no avail. So...I took about 1 cup of canola mayonnaise, whipped in about 1/4 c. or less of olive oil, added two minced garlic cloves, a splash of lemon and some pepper. Not as fabulous as the homemade on my first try, but a fine substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawneSN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
It came out perfect. Although I added a little more oil, it was so thick.and also added extra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
could not get this to set up no matter what. To bad, oh well, off to the store for more eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StableBoy
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Excellent alternative to plain store-bought mayonnaise! Although I think the recipe calls for a bit too much oil, the first time I tried the recipe it seemed to be setting until the last little bit of oil I added... BUT i took MJJK's advice and started over with another egg yolk and it turned out perfectly! (thanks MJJK!) One thing though is I find the aioli has a litte bit of a bitter after-taste, is that just me? It is delicious none-the-less! (and quick!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I think I made it right, I drizzled the olive oil in SLOWLY while I furiously whisked, but I didn't like the end result. I don't really like mayo, so go figure. I thought it would taste different fresh, but I still don't care for it. I'm sure mayo lovers would like this simple little dipping sauce, but I do not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Aioli

Turn regular mayo into a versatile, zesty sauce for so many favorite foods.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Chef John's Tarragon Aioli

See how to make real aioli flavored with fresh tarragon and plenty of garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States