Aimee's Mashed Cauliflower 'Potatoes' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I modified the recipe to use 4 cups cooked cauliflower, 1/2 c. Betty Crocker Butter and Herb mashed potato flakes, 1/2 c. milk, 4 tsp. margarine, 1/2 c. cheese. After boiling the cauliflower for approximately 8 minutes, I pureed it in my food processor then added the flakes, milk, and margarine; processed again then added the cheese. I did not take the extra time to bake the potatoes because my 2 year old niece wanted a taste and ended up eating two bowls. Four cups of cauliflower only made approximately three servings so I had to make a second batch immediately. Delicious! I didn't add salt or pepper due to the extra flavoring in the mashed potatoes. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
These were awesome! Put a little white pepper in and added a little Parmesan and they were totally a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gwendyh

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This recipe was very easy to prepare, put together and bake. I opted to use almond milk in place of the low fat milk. I added fresh parsley and onion flake for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Excellent recipe! A great way to make mashed cauliflower. We like lots of flavor, but few calories as possible. I added a tablespoon of light sour cream, 1 chicken cube powder (no water-just the crushed cube and 1 clove finely chopped garlic and some chopped parsely to the original already fantastic recipe before baking! Thank you for sharing it with the cooking community!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kitten141986
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Just made this for dinner and yumm. I did find the texture when mashed to still be like cauliflower and not like potato so I added some freshley minced garlic and then whipped it in the food processor, adding more milk as needed. I then baked it with some grated cheddar and paprika on top for about 15 minutes. Came out awesome! Will definalty make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten141986

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Texture and mouth feel is a huge part of the illusion. If you simply mash the cauliflower, it doesn't quite pull it off. But if you puree it in a blender or food processor, it comes very close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
My kids and I loved these! A great low carb option to mashed potatoes but I liked them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
In trying to eat healthy, I tried this for my husband and I. We love cauliflower, and this is fantastic!! I cut up a whole cauliflower, steamed it in the microwave, and followed the rest of the directions. Did not feel the need to use anything on them, other than a spritz of butter spray. The taste is exceptional, and will be making this again and again!! OOPS, forgot to say I didn't use the cheese at the end. Again, didn't need it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Excellent and nutritious veggie dish. Can really pass for mashed potatoes. Easy to prepare. I used a blender to purée and added white cheddar cheese and sprinkled that on top before putting in oven. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
made this last night with dinner. it was just o.k. certainly not worth the effort. i prefer steamed cauliflower to this. i would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States