Aimee's Mashed Cauliflower 'Potatoes' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This recipe turned my hubby from a cauliflower hater to a lover. He even said he wouldn't mind having these instead of mashed potatoes!! I skipped the cheese, and used a light whipped butter for a less calorie version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I have a similar recipe which I never thought of as a substitute for potatoes! but is a good side dish? I mash cooked cauliflower with low fat mayo, Parmesan cheese, garlic powder and black pepper. can be served right away or reheats well,too. I sometimes top with melted cheese, whatever I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I made them and thought they were good. I didn't care for the cheese on top so replaced with some gravy. Kind of defeated the healthy aspect I suppose, but it made them so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Texture and mouth feel is a huge part of the illusion. If you simply mash the cauliflower, it doesn't quite pull it off. But if you puree it in a blender or food processor, it comes very close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Very good and easy, added a little garlic powder, I will probably just cook the cauliflower in the microwave to save some time. Husband who's diabetic ate all of his, and didn't complain about no mashed potatoes! ( = a 4 star review for him) The rest of us loved itl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kitten141986
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Just made this for dinner and yumm. I did find the texture when mashed to still be like cauliflower and not like potato so I added some freshley minced garlic and then whipped it in the food processor, adding more milk as needed. I then baked it with some grated cheddar and paprika on top for about 15 minutes. Came out awesome! Will definalty make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten141986

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I’ve made these cauliflower mashed potato dishes many times but always have to be very careful when I make them so they don’t turn out too goopy. For great success the cauliflower must be cooked until very tender, must be dried out as much as possible, and a very limited amount of milk added, if any. What I immediately noticed in this recipe was the addition of the potato flakes, and I thought that was ingenious! The submitter adds just enough to ensure that the cauliflower is a mashed potato consistency and it was a very easy and effective solution! You know, one of those, “Why didn’t I think of that?” kind of things. I made it easy on myself and just microwaved the cauliflower and dried it very thoroughly before I continued with the rest of its preparation. Since I was serving this with gravy I didn’t use the Cheddar cheese. Obviously this only pretends to be mashed potatoes, but it does a fine job, particularly with the “secret ingredient” of potato flakes. Suggestion: For best flavor use butter, not margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I modified the recipe to use 4 cups cooked cauliflower, 1/2 c. Betty Crocker Butter and Herb mashed potato flakes, 1/2 c. milk, 4 tsp. margarine, 1/2 c. cheese. After boiling the cauliflower for approximately 8 minutes, I pureed it in my food processor then added the flakes, milk, and margarine; processed again then added the cheese. I did not take the extra time to bake the potatoes because my 2 year old niece wanted a taste and ended up eating two bowls. Four cups of cauliflower only made approximately three servings so I had to make a second batch immediately. Delicious! I didn't add salt or pepper due to the extra flavoring in the mashed potatoes. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
me and bf really enjoyed this but didn't add the cheese.. topped with a mushroom gravy.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Totally different taste than mashed potatoes (which is what you think of when you're eating it), but VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States