Ahi Poke Basic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Reminds me of being in Hawaii. I did not make any changes. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
As well as dropping the macadamia nuts, I use SHOYU - a less salty & more flavorable style of soy sauce. I find SHOYU in my local Asian markets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Very very good. Actually better than what I've had at a local restaurant which is known for their Ahi Poke. I did add a touch of fresh ginger and left out the nuts. I made a small amount (1/2 lb of Ahi) just for me to try. I'll make this again for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I love ahi poke, 'dis da kine brah, melts in your mouth, ono. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of wasabi powder for a bite. The toasted sesame seeds and mac nuts adds a little crunch, which I love. I did use about 2 lbs. of ahi, fresh off the boat, had to clean fish myself, very fresh. MMM-YUMMMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I made this recipe as an appetizer for gourmet night (hawaiian theme) and it received rave reviews. I altered recipe based on reviews I read: I reduced soy sauce to 1/3 cup low sodium version based on using 1.5 lbs of yellowfin tuna (Cost Saving Tip: buy the tuna nuggets and price goes from $18/lb to $5/lb...same thing except leftovers not used for fillets/steaks). I used tabasco sauce instead of red pepper flakes & 1/3 cup chopped sweet onion with 1/3 cup green onions. I also added a tsp. of fresh grated ginger and the juice from 1 lemon. I, too, omitted the nuts and served on romaine lettuce leaves. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Substitute the mac nuts and green onions for thin sliced sweet onions. Absolutely deee-licious!! Or, as the locals in Hawaii say.."Broke da mouth!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
It's good, but some limu is alwase a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This isn't good at all. I live in Hawaii and we sometimes get free ahi. I like the taste of poke better with cubed ahi, sesame oil, shoyu, tahini, a dash of oyster sauce, chopped chives, chopped maui onion, minced garlic, and seaweed. All to taste. You can omit the oyster sauce or omit the garlic. I would not recommend making this "nut" version at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Love this recipe. Every time I serve this at a party, I always get requests for the recipe. It taste great served on fried wonton chips and also on toast points. It's a winner and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Loved this! I didn't have the nuts but didn't miss them - I did add a large tsp of minced ginger (from jar) and it added much flavor. Also followed other suggestions of cutting soy in half and using part teryaki sauce. Will make this again and again. I served over mixed salad greens as first course - got raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States