Ahi Poke Basic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Fabulous!!!!! OHHHH my! this was just yummy yummy! I've never done a raw tuna dish like this before. I've eaten dishes that was raw, but this was my 1st attempt and I'm in heaven. I totally had to stop myself from eating so much because I was making it for my daughter. I even had my husband sample it BEFORE I told him what it was...hehehe and he LIKED IT! I only made a half batch because where I am at, raw tuna steaks comes frozen & is slightly expensive and I truely wanted not to waste it. And it's totally not a wasted recipe. I did add the red pepper flakes and crushed them with the macadamia nuts with my chopper. There's nothing in this recipe I'd change. TY TY, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This is our go-to poke recipe we always use! We really enjoy it and it is on our recipe rotation list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Nice recipe if you halve the soy sauce. Haven't tried it with the macademia nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
hawaii808 is right. I have had lots of poke and it is not soupy or runny at all. A full cup of shoyu would really be too much. I have never had it with mac nuts either. The key it a balance of cut size and flavor strength. It is supposed to taste more sesame than shoyu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Too salty. I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Didn't have macadamia nuts but didn't feel like it needed any. I let it marinate for about 2 hours. It was DIVINE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Using fresh ahi this is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Having just returned from Hawaii we were still hungry for Ahi Poke which we ate there several times. I found this recipe and tried it and it was wonderful. Reducing the soy sauce was a great suggestion that I used. I toasted white and black sesame seeds and added them. I also made a light wasabe sauce to drizzle over the top, which is what we had in Hawaii and it really makes it pop. I will definitely be making this one when I get the craving again. Serving it is martini glasses is a really fun way to make an impression. A KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
It was awesome! We get this dish as a shared appetizer at our local 5-star sushi joint and i decided to give it a try at home. I improvised from this recipe to try and match the way they make it at the restaurant. Made a much smaller amount because I was testing it out. Used 1 piece of sashimi tuna about 6" round by 1" thick. What I did different: Skipped the macadamia nuts. Eyeballed the soy sauce / sesame oil ratios (again – i made a smaller amount) I added some red pepper flakes that I ran through spice grinder for more powdery consistency Also add avocado to your shopping list. It’s about 1/2 avocado per serving. NOTE: DO NOT put avocado in marinate because it will break down and turn to mush. Wait until you're ready to plate to add avocado. Cut into similar sized chunks as the tuna. Next time – I’m going to try to find the orange roe and add a spoonful to the marinade. Came out VERY VERY close to the restaurant in flavor and consistency. We loved it! Absolutely will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States