Ahi Poke Basic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
i combined all the ingredients (minus the mac nuts) before i poured the mixture onto the tuna. i ended up using about 2/3 of everything. i definitely would agree with others that said to use low sodium soy sauce. i didn't and i thought it was way too salty. my friends thought it was good still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JING_19

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paige
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Loved it! Served it with crispy wonton chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This is delicious...however, I like it a tad better when I use low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j.e.dore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Real poke should have some seaweed, but I think it's a type that you're not going to find on the mainland (except maybe around SF). This recipe was a fantastic "mainland imitation." I would cut back on the soy to suit your taste, but be sure to use a good quality soy since so much of this flavor is based on that seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Yummy! try with cilantro for a little twist, or a kimchee base sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
We devoured this. Tasted like the Poke we got at the Grand Hyatt in Kauai! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUADCHICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I have made this twice now and it has come out great each time. It is very easy to make and is very tasty. I don't use 100% soy sauce...I follow some of the other commenter's suggestions and use 50% terriyaki sauce and 50% soy sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
Oh so yummy! I used fresh wasabi paste instead of the crushed red pepper for heat and also added diced avocado to make the poke even more silky and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYJANE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Crazy good! Like having Sushi in a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Cornwall, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Poke does not have mac nuts in it. NEVER. The native "kukui nut" is some times added after it has been made into a preparation called "inamona." It does not taste like mac nuts. Leave out the mac nuts and add only enough shoyu to coat the fish and you'll have a modern rendition on poke. The more traditional poke is made from raw fish, sea-salt, inamona, and seaweed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

SPAM® Musubi

Marinated and cooked slices of SPAM® on top of seasoned rice, wrapped in nori.

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States