Agua de Jamaica (Hibiscus Water) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This drink is fabulous. I have very similar recipe, but I tried this to rate. I used a little sugar to my taste. I want to say that this recipe is the best way to enjoy flor de Jamaica (sorrel or hibiscus). As I know, some people don't like sorrel, because it seems too sour to their taste. But this way is the perfect balance between tartness, spices and sweet from sugar. I served this drink for the people who don't like sorrel and after drinking they changed their opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
love the recipe its more like the Puerto Rican one but thats fine because I'm Puerto Rican.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Great recipe! I've always loved the Celestial Seasonings Red Zinger tea, and this tasted even better! We don't have a Mexican market near our house, but SB was kind enough to send my sister Geranium the ingredients we couldn't find, so that we could try this recipe. The finished drink is so amazing! It is very refreshing, and not too sweet. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe...it is wonderful and we'll be making it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by SB
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
You can use a 2oz bag of dried hibiscus leaves which can be found at the local mexican markets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This recipe was exceptional!! I made this today and can't stop drinking it! :) the only problem I found with this is that it doesn't make enough... ;/ hehe! Thanks so much SB! You are such an AWESOME person (I can't thank you enough for sending me the ingredients, and there was enough in the package for a second recipe, so I'm gonna use it wisely!)! Oh, yeah... and my sister (larkspur) made this with me, so there will be a picture! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Excellent! I love the agua de jamaica they sell in the restaurant part of our local Mexican grocery store, but it's SO expensive! This was simple to make and very inexpensive (about $3.00 for a gallon, compared to $3.49 for a 32-ounce cup at the store). This is less sweet and syrupy than the jamaica at the store, too, and that makes me like it even more. Thanks for a great recipe that I'll make many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Great recipe! Made it exactly as posted, and it's delicious! Will be fun to add a little more cinnamon, etc., when Fall & Winter come (we live in AZ and can drink iced beverages all year). A great alternative to traditional iced drinks - and really fun for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Hibiscus Water/Agua de Jamaica/Sorrel is also VERY popular througout the Caribbean. We serve it as is or spiked with rum or even frozen as granita. This recipe is EXACTLY how I was raised to make it in Puerto Rico. It puts the REFRESH in to REFRESHment! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ds R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sabana Grande, Sabana Grande, Puerto Rico
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I've made this drink so many times in the last couple of years and we love it! I gave the recipe to a few people already and they love it as well..I never liked agua de jamaica at mex. restaurants until i tried this homemade version.. oh sooo good with lots of ice!!!No need to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Yummy! This is the first time I attempted to make agua de jamica and it was really good. I did a tester for today and will be making a big jug of this stuff for my sons birthday served with tacos. My hubby and children loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moniqreation

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Cinco de Mayo Fiesta

Create a grande celebration with this authentic Mexican spread.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States