Agua de Jamaica (Hibiscus Water) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I have it 2 stars because it's good. But not five because This is an exaggerated version of the Mexican Jamaica Drink. Both my parents are from Michoacan, Mex and my mother herself only boils Hibiscus leaves for a good 2 hours to extract all the flavor and color and as it's hot she adds Mexican sugar (not the piloncillo which has a different after taste, but course, unbleached, Mexican sugar) and that is it. I tried this recipe, and although good, it's not Mexican Jamaica, it heavily resembles that from Puerto Rico.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
AWESOME!! I don't have a gallon pitcher, so I halved the recipe, got a lil too much nutmeg (oops!) still delicious. Going to try to gradually reduce the sugar. Excellent recipe. Thank you SB!! UPDATE: This has become my quaff du summer. In a 1/2 gl pitcher I've reduced the sugar to 1 medium cone of piloncillo and 1/2 c. white sugar. For some added goodness, I've squeezed a lime or two or three in it as well, so refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Excellent! I love the agua de jamaica they sell in the restaurant part of our local Mexican grocery store, but it's SO expensive! This was simple to make and very inexpensive (about $3.00 for a gallon, compared to $3.49 for a 32-ounce cup at the store). This is less sweet and syrupy than the jamaica at the store, too, and that makes me like it even more. Thanks for a great recipe that I'll make many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I had to increase the amount of water as it was a bit too strong. Other than that... great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fatima E

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Indeed, this drink is served throughout the Caribbean. It's called sorrel in Jamaica and Barbados. Jamaicans add white rum to theirs for a Christmastime cocktail. We Bajans just brew the petals with a cinnamon stick and plenty of sugar! Back home in NY, the hibiscus petals (flors des Jamaica) were quite easy to find in any one of the myriad indigenous markets in town. (Used to be able to buy a sorrel syrup concentrate, too, if you couldn't find the petals.) Here in Nashville, we have to look a little harder for Mexican or international markets; but it's not impossible to find -- and well worth the trouble once you get the end result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This recipe was exceptional!! I made this today and can't stop drinking it! :) the only problem I found with this is that it doesn't make enough... ;/ hehe! Thanks so much SB! You are such an AWESOME person (I can't thank you enough for sending me the ingredients, and there was enough in the package for a second recipe, so I'm gonna use it wisely!)! Oh, yeah... and my sister (larkspur) made this with me, so there will be a picture! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by SB
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
You can use a 2oz bag of dried hibiscus leaves which can be found at the local mexican markets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I added some tropical Green Tea to my first batch. I love Jamaica anyway I can get it, but I always like to add some sort of interesting tea to my homemade Jamaica. It always adds another level to the fragrant bouquet this drink already leaves behind after each slow sip. Mmm MMM! Perfect for Summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Great recipe! I've always loved the Celestial Seasonings Red Zinger tea, and this tasted even better! We don't have a Mexican market near our house, but SB was kind enough to send my sister Geranium the ingredients we couldn't find, so that we could try this recipe. The finished drink is so amazing! It is very refreshing, and not too sweet. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe...it is wonderful and we'll be making it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This drink is fabulous. I have very similar recipe, but I tried this to rate. I used a little sugar to my taste. I want to say that this recipe is the best way to enjoy flor de Jamaica (sorrel or hibiscus). As I know, some people don't like sorrel, because it seems too sour to their taste. But this way is the perfect balance between tartness, spices and sweet from sugar. I served this drink for the people who don't like sorrel and after drinking they changed their opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Cinco de Mayo Fiesta

Create a grande celebration with this authentic Mexican spread.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States