Agedashi-esque Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2001
This is fantastic as an appetizer or a main dish for a quick one person meal. Even people who profess to HATE tofu love it and usually don't even know what it is. I skipped the hoisen and mixed up a light sauce of soy, ginger, sesame oil, and red wine vinegar to drizzle over the top. Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
This is just SO good. I cube the tofu then put them between layers of paper towels for a few minutes. This gets the excess water out so there's no splattering when the tofu hits the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Very good! I used olive oil to fry this and the taste was superb!A good no cholesterol treat!I dipped mine in terriyaki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
YUMMY!! This is exactly like the tofu I get at my favorite asian restaurants! I used it as a replacement for chicken in a stir fry recipe with the following orange ginger glaze: 1 tablespoon cornstarch 3/4 cup orange juice 3 tablespoons light soy sauce 1 tablespoon honey 1 teaspoon minced ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
This is an amazing dish for vegetarians who cannot think of what to do with their tofu! It came out delicious and fast every time I made it. I did not like the hoi-sin sauce so I dipped the peices in soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
I've been looking for a good tofu recipe for 3 years and have tried many. This is the best! I even had Hoisin sauce in my cupboard but had never found a use for it. MSG affects me negatively, so I was happy to find a recipe I could use at home. I added steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
I really liked this recipe. The cornstarch made the tofu crispy outside and tender inside. Simple and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
This was good and reminds me of a dish we eat at a local Thai restuarant called "Sweet Basil Tofu". The tofu is fried like this, the sauce is some type of coconut creamy white sauce with lots of vegies added. Does anyone have an idea for this sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
A very nice simple and easy to prepare dish. It's a favorite at my house, however, more cornstarch may be needed to sufficiently coat the tofu than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
This was so simple and delicious! I great way to get a non-tofu eater to try it! I skipped the green onions without losing any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States