Agedashi-esque Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
It's pretty good, but as a Japanese I just could not pour hoisin sauce over the tofu. I guess it's quick and easy that way, but it's so much better with soy sauce, mirin (rice wine), and kelp broth. You also have to have grated ginger on top of the tofu. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
YUMMY!! This is exactly like the tofu I get at my favorite asian restaurants! I used it as a replacement for chicken in a stir fry recipe with the following orange ginger glaze: 1 tablespoon cornstarch 3/4 cup orange juice 3 tablespoons light soy sauce 1 tablespoon honey 1 teaspoon minced ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
This is just SO good. I cube the tofu then put them between layers of paper towels for a few minutes. This gets the excess water out so there's no splattering when the tofu hits the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Very authentic in taste and texture (lived in Japan for 8 yrs). Instead of hoisin sauce, I combined chicken broth and soy sauce (about a 2:1 ratio) and fresh lemon juice - (adjust to taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2001
This is fantastic as an appetizer or a main dish for a quick one person meal. Even people who profess to HATE tofu love it and usually don't even know what it is. I skipped the hoisen and mixed up a light sauce of soy, ginger, sesame oil, and red wine vinegar to drizzle over the top. Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
Very tasty. I darned near killed myself with all of the splattering oil, though. I am going to have to invest in a splatter screen if I make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Very good! I used olive oil to fry this and the taste was superb!A good no cholesterol treat!I dipped mine in terriyaki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
I've been looking for a good tofu recipe for 3 years and have tried many. This is the best! I even had Hoisin sauce in my cupboard but had never found a use for it. MSG affects me negatively, so I was happy to find a recipe I could use at home. I added steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I had never had/cooked tofu, so I thought this was an easy recipe to try. I added salt, pepper, cumin, and garlic to the cornstarch! I also cubed the tofu into smaller bite size bites and squezzed lemon juice on top when they were done cooking along with some kosher salt and the green onions. My kids (3 & 5) loved it, they thought it was cheese though and i didn't correct them! It was good, I think i would add some seasoning directly to the tofu next time before i dredge it in the cornstarch, just for a little more flavor! I am not afraid of tofu any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
Was really messy and smoked alot, had to stick the pan outside because it was so smokey. Other than that they were pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States