Agedashi-esque Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
I've always wondered how to prepare this delicious dish after having it in a couple japanese restaurants. It turned out tasting basically the same though the color wasn't as tanned, it was still very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
excellent & easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2001
This is fantastic as an appetizer or a main dish for a quick one person meal. Even people who profess to HATE tofu love it and usually don't even know what it is. I skipped the hoisen and mixed up a light sauce of soy, ginger, sesame oil, and red wine vinegar to drizzle over the top. Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
I really liked this recipe. The cornstarch made the tofu crispy outside and tender inside. Simple and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
Very tasty. I darned near killed myself with all of the splattering oil, though. I am going to have to invest in a splatter screen if I make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
This is just SO good. I cube the tofu then put them between layers of paper towels for a few minutes. This gets the excess water out so there's no splattering when the tofu hits the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
It's pretty good, but as a Japanese I just could not pour hoisin sauce over the tofu. I guess it's quick and easy that way, but it's so much better with soy sauce, mirin (rice wine), and kelp broth. You also have to have grated ginger on top of the tofu. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
YUMMY!! This is exactly like the tofu I get at my favorite asian restaurants! I used it as a replacement for chicken in a stir fry recipe with the following orange ginger glaze: 1 tablespoon cornstarch 3/4 cup orange juice 3 tablespoons light soy sauce 1 tablespoon honey 1 teaspoon minced ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
Was really messy and smoked alot, had to stick the pan outside because it was so smokey. Other than that they were pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
I've been looking for a good tofu recipe for 3 years and have tried many. This is the best! I even had Hoisin sauce in my cupboard but had never found a use for it. MSG affects me negatively, so I was happy to find a recipe I could use at home. I added steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States