Agedashi-esque Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
I had never thought of frying tofu when I read this recipe. I already had my tofu, but didn't want to make a special trip to the store for hoisin sauce. SO I cut my tofu into 24 cubes (because 12 were too big.) Then I pressed the tofu in paper towels to get out as much water as possible. Then, with 12 cubes, I put cumin, oregano, garlic and salt (all to taste) in cornstarch and fried them. Drained them and had in salad. Yum!Yum! The other 12, I put cinnamon in cornstarch and then fried (seperate pan) them. Drained them and then ate with yogurt. Not too sweet, but that's the way I like things! Rolling them in sugar right out of the pan, and then draining them, would definitely sweeten them up. I liked this new (to me) idea of tofu. Next time, maybe crumbling the tofu before rolling in cornstarch for toppings?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
This was light and tasty....and so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
this is great add a little rice, some miso soup, and some kim-chee and your set. Oddly good coated in shake n bake too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Something went wrong for me somewhere. Why did mine crystalize?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENMYTEDDY13

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I won't make this again, it was lacking in flavor and the grease made my tummy feel sick. What I would consider Junky health food the grease takes away the benefits of the tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sheppard
Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This is my favourite way to cook up tofu! Crispy outside, soft inside. Drizzle some hoisin sauce on top and serve with a small bowl of soy sauce and you're set. Great with a green salad and sliced cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
Found tofu in the fridge, was hungry, so came here looking for a recipe. This one looked quick and easy enough. I didn't have the cornstarch, so I used Progresso Italian bread crumbs and sauted it in olive oil w/green onions. My husband was curious to know what smelled so good. I put some steamed rice in a bowl with a little soy sauce, then topped it with the tofu. It really tasted great for a quick meal. I can't wait to try it as it is written, but for now the Italian bread crumbs got me through in a pinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Finally, a recipe that describes how real Thai restaurants make their tofu! I've never been able to make my tofu turn out well, and now I know the secret.. corn starch. Really fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
I thought this would also be delicious in a sweet & sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States