Agedashi-esque Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hamzter247
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I loved this recipie, i made it yesterday and ate it with green onions and hosin sause on rice and it was amazing. and the best part was the whole dinner only took me 10 minuets. i acually liked it so much that today i took the tofu out of my leftover coconut curry soup and fried it like this and then put it back in the soup and added noodles. it was fantastic and held its "crunch" even in soup:) all around a very versatile recipie and makes tofu not taste like tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I wanted to like this recipe as I love Agedashi Tofu BUT too many flaws for such a simple dish. The extra firm tofu didn't result in the lovely creamy center that agedashi tofu is supposed to have and hoisin sauce is too heavy + sweet to use on delicate tofu. Replace extra firm tofu with soft tofu and replace the hoisin with a simmered mixture of 3/4 cup dashi broth, 3 Tbsp soy sauce, 2 Tbsp mirin and 2 tsp sugar and you'll have a much nicer dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I fried each side until it got crispy and a very light tan color. The Hoisin sauce was not very good but soy sauce was perfect. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pietowngirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I always order this dish at japanese restaurants. Now I can make it myself but I use soy sauce w/ sesame oil and rice vinegar instead of hoisin sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilbambella
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Pretty good! I never had tofu before and this was a good first try :) I did squeeze out a lot of the liquid first though and I think it made a big difference. Instead of drizzling the hoisin which is thick and not easy to drizzle, I put the tofu in a large bowl and stirred it around with the hoisin. I served it with rice with veggies mixed in with a drizzle of sesame oil on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Good, simple recipe. I dredged the tofu in flour instead of the cornstarch (since it was what I had), and heated the hoisin sauce in a skillet and tossed with the fried tofu. Really good by itself of served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddie1140

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Perfect! I used the recipe exactly to cook strips of tofu for Vietnamese Salad Rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
great, easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This is the first time I have ever cooked tofu. I should have paid more attention to the reviews and dried the tofu a bit before putting into the corn starch. My corn starch was mushy. If I make this again I would add seasoning to the corn starch as well. It tasted pretty good to me but I was the only one in my house to eat it. Perhaps my children just didn't like the hoisin sauce?!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States