Agedashi-esque Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Just sat down from making this. I liked it a lot. I still have to tweak it to my taste buds. But that is what cooking is, science on the stove. Oh, I fried mine in safflower oil (found in the olive oil section), it was a light almost flavorless tasting oil. I gave some to friends who haven't tried anything tofu before. They seemed to like it, being hard core carnivores. I wasn't expecting miracles. So a little bit interest in trying it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
YUM! I used Mochiko (sweet rice flour) in place of corn starch, tastes exactly like the Agedashi appetizer that a trendy, super-expensive sushi restaurant in La Jolla USED to serve. My 2-year-old and I just macked away until the all of the tofu was gone! This is super easy, healthful, and so incredibly yummy, I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
The texture after being fried was horrible, and the cornstarch caused it to stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Super easy and super fast! I like to cut the tofu into 1/2 in. strips and use them in Vietnamese Salad Rolls. This recipe is keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I've made this recipe twice & look forward to making it again & again. I stayed true to the recipe the first time however, on the second time I used flour insted of cornstarch. The cornstarch makes the tofu a little chewy (in a good way) whereas the flour leaves it a bit lighter. Both ways worked good for me. If you don't have hoisin, sweet & sour sauce is awesome with this as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pinkie And The Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I cut my tofu into "sticks". My results were very crispy on the outside, soft and creamy on the inside. Be sure to let the oil get hot enough so that it pops when you drip water on it - maybe that's why other reviewers had slimy results? I think I will add some flavor to the cornstarch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I sliced mine into "sticks", then fried them, and they looked just like fish sticks! The kids held them and dipped them into the sauce. Before I sliced the tofu, I pressed it to drain out extra liquid. I think this is very important to keep the cornstarch from getting sloppy. Firm or extra firm tofu works best for pressing! Ours fried up nice and crisp on the outside, warm and creamy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This was good but the cornstarch did turn a little slimy. It still tasted really good though. I did pour a little bit of soy sauce over the tofu though to give it a little more flavor. This will be something I make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I always wondered why a restaurant's fried tofu was better than mine. Now I know - corn starch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
My tofu came out horrible. I followed the recipe exactly, so I don't know what happened, but I just ended up with a gooey mess of cornstarch coating. I didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States