Agedashi-esque Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by hamzter247
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I loved this recipie, i made it yesterday and ate it with green onions and hosin sause on rice and it was amazing. and the best part was the whole dinner only took me 10 minuets. i acually liked it so much that today i took the tofu out of my leftover coconut curry soup and fried it like this and then put it back in the soup and added noodles. it was fantastic and held its "crunch" even in soup:) all around a very versatile recipie and makes tofu not taste like tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I wanted to like this recipe as I love Agedashi Tofu BUT too many flaws for such a simple dish. The extra firm tofu didn't result in the lovely creamy center that agedashi tofu is supposed to have and hoisin sauce is too heavy + sweet to use on delicate tofu. Replace extra firm tofu with soft tofu and replace the hoisin with a simmered mixture of 3/4 cup dashi broth, 3 Tbsp soy sauce, 2 Tbsp mirin and 2 tsp sugar and you'll have a much nicer dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I fried each side until it got crispy and a very light tan color. The Hoisin sauce was not very good but soy sauce was perfect. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pietowngirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I always order this dish at japanese restaurants. Now I can make it myself but I use soy sauce w/ sesame oil and rice vinegar instead of hoisin sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilbambella
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Pretty good! I never had tofu before and this was a good first try :) I did squeeze out a lot of the liquid first though and I think it made a big difference. Instead of drizzling the hoisin which is thick and not easy to drizzle, I put the tofu in a large bowl and stirred it around with the hoisin. I served it with rice with veggies mixed in with a drizzle of sesame oil on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Good, simple recipe. I dredged the tofu in flour instead of the cornstarch (since it was what I had), and heated the hoisin sauce in a skillet and tossed with the fried tofu. Really good by itself of served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddie1140

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Perfect! I used the recipe exactly to cook strips of tofu for Vietnamese Salad Rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
great, easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This is the first time I have ever cooked tofu. I should have paid more attention to the reviews and dried the tofu a bit before putting into the corn starch. My corn starch was mushy. If I make this again I would add seasoning to the corn starch as well. It tasted pretty good to me but I was the only one in my house to eat it. Perhaps my children just didn't like the hoisin sauce?!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Just sat down from making this. I liked it a lot. I still have to tweak it to my taste buds. But that is what cooking is, science on the stove. Oh, I fried mine in safflower oil (found in the olive oil section), it was a light almost flavorless tasting oil. I gave some to friends who haven't tried anything tofu before. They seemed to like it, being hard core carnivores. I wasn't expecting miracles. So a little bit interest in trying it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States