Agedashi-esque Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
this recipe as is is a good place to start. i season the cornstarch, for instance. i'd like to tell others though -- try and use at least 1" cubes. too small, and you might lose the flavor of the tofu -- unless that's what you're going for! ths recipe is versitle and great fun. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Used this method of preparing tofu with a General's Tso's sauce I found on this site. It was the perfect consistancy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gwynne Kloch
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I made this using medium firm tofu instead as that better approximates Agedashi Tofu. It was harder to work with but so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Awesome simple recipe that you can do so many things with. Play around with the spices, sauces, and sizes and you will come out with a lot of variety. You can put them on salds, place them in salads, and the basic recipe provided is awesome by itself. Very traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Very authentic in taste and texture (lived in Japan for 8 yrs). Instead of hoisin sauce, I combined chicken broth and soy sauce (about a 2:1 ratio) and fresh lemon juice - (adjust to taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I had never had/cooked tofu, so I thought this was an easy recipe to try. I added salt, pepper, cumin, and garlic to the cornstarch! I also cubed the tofu into smaller bite size bites and squezzed lemon juice on top when they were done cooking along with some kosher salt and the green onions. My kids (3 & 5) loved it, they thought it was cheese though and i didn't correct them! It was good, I think i would add some seasoning directly to the tofu next time before i dredge it in the cornstarch, just for a little more flavor! I am not afraid of tofu any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
As followed, the recipe is bland. I added black pepper, salt, and lawry's seasoned salt to the corn starch. For the dipping sauce, I didn't like the hoisin sauce with tofu. I much prefer the broth, lemon juice, and soy sauce with chopped green onion as suggested by a previous reviewer. Very good and similar to agadashi tofu served at my favorite Japanese restaurant. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ammelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
We fried this using organic canola oil and squeezed a bit of fresh lemon on the tofu before the onions and sauce...tasted yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I did not care for this. Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
Recipe was very simple yet really effective and very tasty. An interesting texture that accompanied the 'wet' dishes well. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIKACLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Berkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Thatcham, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States