After the Holidays Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I read the recipe, went through my refrigerator and threw things together as this recipe did. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Absolutely NO WASTE from our Easter ham with this recipe, but there's good and bad news; bad, my didn't look half as good as the picture, good, bet it tasted just as GOOD...!!! I took some of the advice from past reviews and modified mine with "what I had", used fresh carrots and celery instead of frozen veggies, used larger can of tomatoes and tomato sauce, substituted brown rice instead of long grain, plus a bit MORE ham and "the rest is history"..!!! Did not require any added seasoning/spices, all the flavor came from the ham bone and ingredients...cook time was just about spot on from directions, LOVE THIS SOUP...!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
After reading all the reviews, I decided to try it. I hadn't had much luck in the past with soups made with a ham-bone base. This was the same. It was OK, but still needs some tweaking. I omitted the pasta as some suggested, and added the potatoes later in cooking, but found that the potatoes really did need longer to cook. (Mine were cut in 1/2-to-1-inch chunks.) My husband and I both think the pasta would have added to it, and we will probably add bowtie pasta to our leftovers. I did add oregano, salt, pepper, garlic powder, parsley and fresh garlic, as well as some celery salt, and that helped add to the taste. I can tell it would be great if I could just figure out the missing ingredient--but I'm not that good of a cook...yet. Maybe using vegetable broth instead of water? Or the bouillon, as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Nice Recipe. Althought I did not follow it to a 'T', it was a good base for me. What I did was boil the ham bone for about 1.5hrs. Chilled the broth to remove the majority of grease before continuing on. For seasoning, I added two Tbsp garlic flakes, 2 tsp onion flakes, 2 tsp onion powder, 1 tsp black pepper and about 1/4tsp cayenne pepper and 1/2 tsp salt. (tailor to fit your own tastes) Next I added one can of diced tomatoes-undrained. About two cups each of frozen carrots, green beans, peas, and corn. Also added one can of light kidney beans-drained and rinsed. Next I added about a cup of Quinoa rather than rice. I also omitted the potatoes and noodles as I like to have soup 'healthy' and not full of too many carbs. Right now it is coming to a boil and I will let it simmer for a good hour, then enjoy! So far the flavor is wonderful. The Cayenne gives it a good zip! Mmmm Thanks for Sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Two Rivers, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
The family LOVES when I make this! I dont add the potaoes however. I need to make this more than once a year. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Tried this recipe yesterday, and with a few minor alterations it was great. I used my slow cooker and cooked my leftover Holiday ham with a couple cans of chicken broth and water. After it cooked for about an hour, I added chopped celery, carrots and an onion. Added a couple bay leaves and cooked for about another hour or so, I then added some vegetable juice I had on hand. Added rice stirred back in the ham that I cut off the bone. Added a can of corn, butter beans, macaroni, Rotel and a can of diced tomatoes then added the potatoes. Very yummy! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
When you come across a recipe and see that it has every thing you have on hand...you get totally excited. As so did I. Having said that. I was not thrilled about the over all taste or the mushy look to the end result. And I can tell you it was very bland. Blame the overcooked potatoes in the directions. There is no seasoning & the ingredients in the cooking process that need to be rearranged. Confused? Here's what I see to what happened in my batch. I followed exactly to a T & especially to the directions. The directions literally over cooks the ingredients. The potatoes were so mushy & tasted watered down. The noodles were way to tender. The rice was overly mushy as well as split in half. The ham was the only thing that had kept the flavor all the way through. I had to doctor it up to be edible for my family. When adding spices to correct the water downed taste from the potatoes, the back flavor still didn't have any flavor even though you could taste the seasonings. There totally needs to be herbs and spices in the beginning process when cooking the meat with the water. The potatoes need to be added after the 20 minute simmering process. Noodles & rice needs to be added on the last 30 minutes, not an 1 & 1/2 prior. I would either omit the rice or omit the noodles but not have both. This recipe is a tweaking recipe. As is, I'm sorry is not great at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
As with any recipe I add or delete ingredients. This was very good with a bit of garlic and oregano added. I used navy beans and cooked it a lot longer than called for because of the beans. I added oregano and garlic with a few green beans. Came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I put the ham bone and extra ham on high in a big crockpot filled with non-fat chicken soup stock. Scraped off the grease that formed on the top. Added carrots, potatoes, celery (skipped frozen vegetables) about 2 or so hrs before done. Added rice 20 minutes before as someone suggested. I would skip the macaroni next time and add more rice as macaroni gets mushy in storage. MOST IMPORTANT CHANGE IS TO ADD 2 (11.5 OZ.) OF SPICY V8 JUICE. THis makes it a 5 star in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I followed the advice of others. I added garlic, salt, pepper and parsley. I omitted the macaroni and used only rice. I added rice 35 min. before end of cook time and cooked soup for a total 1 hr. 15 min. We thought it was delicious with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States